Nosy Tata Indicom???

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by puja399, Jun 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. puja399

    puja399 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am writing this because I feel that people in this board and also others should know about the famous Tata Indicom and their snoopy attitude. This is more so because recently I tumbled on a thread in this forum relating to Tata Indicom (http://www.thinkdigit.com/forum/showthread.php?t=28313).

    But first, a little introduction. I use a dedicated dialup line using BSNL's internet phone and Tata indicom's unlimited dialup pack. I also have another phone which is for voice calls only.

    A couple of days ago, one telephone call came to my voice phoneline from a number 4066230900, and someone wanted to talk to me by saying my full name and address, and also my login id, and when confirmed, she asked whether I would like to renew my ISP plan (it was due for renewal), she also said that she is from Tata indicom.

    Which surprised me is that,
    1)I never used my real name and address or phone no. to register myself with
    Tata,
    2) I never dialled from my voice phone number for internet, and so this number was not visible to tata ( by using CLI devices),
    3) I don't disclose my personal information to anyone.
    4) So Tata is not supposed to know my voice phone number or my personal details.

    So, obviously, Tata has done a little research on me before calling me (perhaps by watching the internet phone number and then searching the phone directory), and found my real name, voice phone number and even my address ...which I find alarming.

    So, people, if any of u are using Tata for loggin in, please be careful, may be Tata is snooping around and scanning data packets and chat messages going in and out of ur computer or may be watching which sites u are visiting...
     
  2. mohit sharma

    mohit sharma New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ghaziabad , India , Earth , Universe
    looks like tata indicom can do nything for it's sale and survival , well legally this is offencive to collect such information , espacially in this manner ( not much sure , but it should b ) , and had they hired any dedicated detective agency to look out for potential customers :confused:
     
  3. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
  4. speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    confused abt that puja... i was just planning to get a connection from tata.... shud i go for it now? and hwz d unlimited plan in indicom...is it worth?

    cheers
     
  5. Darthvader

    Darthvader Back From Deathstar

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rome 233 B.C
    U better get BSNL seeing tata the "snoop"
     
  6. ECE0105

    ECE0105 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    BSNL is the way to go........

    These guys have pulled up their socks and the quality of the Product is good... Can't say the same abt the service though, since u r made to run around pillar to post for any complaints.....

    But, I had used BSNL Netone for 3 years, before switching to Dataone, since a year.... I find the Download and upload speeds quite reasonable....
     
  7. speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    can u plz gimmi exact performance like download upload speed, server disconnection, fone line problem or anything like dat...i hv bsnl landline...thinkin for gettin this unlimited plan 900 (256kbps) connection but need some good advice b4 dat...

    cheers
     
  8. mohit sharma

    mohit sharma New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ghaziabad , India , Earth , Universe
    i don't know exactly about presence of airtel in ur area , but if tht is present in ur area , then i will recommend to go for it's any of unlimited broadband plan , their plans very from area to area for example here in ghaziabad they are offering 128 kbps unlimited for rs. 699 and double speed at nights , plus they provide best services , i had seen till now , no running pillers to pillers , just a call is enough for any problem , even if that problem is caused by urself only !!! .
     
  9. alienspiesu

    alienspiesu New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ya dude try airtel... it rokZ...
     
  10. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur

    BSNL is good but what it lacks is service which being a goverment dep u must understand.sarkaari log:D
     
  11. khansdream

    khansdream New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Skull Island
    If Tata can do anything to promote its business in throat-cut competition, how can I believe that other wouldn't do, bsnl is exception as it is government service.
     
  12. speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    will checkout airtel...thanx

    cheers
     
  13. lyroj

    lyroj New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    i would suggest u to go for airtel bb, i have been using it from past 4 months and it is good.
    Initially i had a tata bb which i cancelled due to lack of quality service.it s**** man.
     
  14. speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    which is d cheapest broadband available...i mean i use net at home for abt 3-4 mnths a year wen im on vacations....so cant ask for any heavily priced connection....im tired of this airtel gprs....speed s**ks...n other one is firewall so lotsa restrictions....or not even broadband then any other connection wit decent speed (unlimited)...

    cheers
     
  15. Zeeshan Quireshi

    Zeeshan Quireshi C# Be Sharp !

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    well just switch to airtel broadband ;)
     
  16. mohit sharma

    mohit sharma New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ghaziabad , India , Earth , Universe
    airtel GPRS and broadband are entirely two different things !!!! if u need mobile internet , then still i would recommend reliance instead of any GPRS , reliace laptop cards are good mobilty connection !!!!
     
  17. speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    alrite...thanx for info dude...r they unimited...or can u gimmi any website regarding its information...wud like to check out

    thanx again
    cheers
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page