Norton Antivirus 2007 :)

Discussion in 'Technology News' started by rakeshishere, Jul 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rakeshishere

    rakeshishere HELP AND SUPPORT

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Norton Antivirus 2007

    * Automatically removes viruses, Trojan horses, and worms.
    * Checks incoming and outgoing email attachments for viruses.
    * Automatically scans incoming instant message attachments for threats.
    * Checks compressed file archives for viruses.
    * Keeps dangerous Internet worms out, blocking them before they infect your system.
    * Automatically downloads updates to protect against new threats.
    * Automatically scans for viruses upon downloading updates.
    * Uses smart technology to detect emergent worms and other new threats without waiting for updates.
    * Disinfects your system prior to installation, starting you off with a clean, virus-free computer.

    Norton AntiVirus 2007 is compatible with the following operating systems:

    Windows XP Professional
    Windows XP Home
    Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005
    Windows Vista


    NOTE:it's not available to the public yet.
     
  2. nik_for_you

    nik_for_you New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Paris
    what is so much new in this ?
     
  3. Vyasram

    Vyasram The pWnster

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Karaikudi,TN
    2006 has a six at itz end, this has seven at itz end, 99% same on xp especially if u update it .

    Maybe it has better compatibility with vista .

    Anyway, norton is out of my options for av
     
  4. Ankur Gupta

    Ankur Gupta Wandering in time...

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,293
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    I long ago dumped norton due to its high system resources utilisation..unable to protect my pc frm minor viruses...and bulky updates...
    For me NOD32 rox..thanx to Kalpik for telling me abt it!
     
  5. manas

    manas Wandering in the zone ...

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Avast rocks.Its free too.
     
  6. JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    There's nothing new in Norton 2007. It's almost the same. New wine in old bottle.
    Also lot of worms & viruses are targetting Norton & disabling it by corrupting or
    by moving some of its files!!
     
  7. LegendKiller

    LegendKiller New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just the new "Shiney New UI"
     
  8. mihirvashist

    mihirvashist New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no matter what they give i'll still stick to my AVAST! home edition 7
    i feel it is as good as norton
     
  9. __Virus__

    __Virus__ New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    hogger hogger resource hogger
     
  10. go_gamez

    go_gamez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    navi mumbai
    i dont find norton 06 that bad too...
     
  11. anandk

    anandk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    Bloatware !
     
  12. LegendKiller

    LegendKiller New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sorry folks norton 2006 neither is a resource-hog and neither a bloatware!!!
    And mind you,if you install this latest offering from them,you will find it very light on ur pc!!!
    plz MHR(my-humble-request) try the product and also be rational just dont jump the gun just as you see a norton or microsoft product!!!
     
  13. ~Phenom~

    ~Phenom~ The No.1 Stupid

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CYBERYARD
    I think u want to say old wine in new bottle.

    BTW , norton sucks.
    Avast rules.
     
  14. rockthegod

    rockthegod Dark Overlord !!!

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Obliterated into Oblivion
    Norton used to be my fav. untill 2004.... after that they are just system hogs... nothing else..will all its processes running consumes upto 80 MB of memory... and the virus protection is not so phenomenal.

    a few monthns back, used to use McAfee AV 9.0 Pro -- this was really gr8... consuming 38 MB with all its processes running and real tough AV + Spyware protection with solid hassle free updates. I was satisfies until therir latest incarnation of update.. Mcafee 10 which still consumed 48 MB of memory...

    My concern is the best AV with least system memory consumption.... ultimately now using Kaspersky 6.0, completely satisfied with only 24 MB memory consumption & real SOLID protection.

    So, forgotten NORTON fully. !!!
     
  15. cool_dude_prav

    cool_dude_prav New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    Is that not supposed to be Old wine in new bottle... ;)
     
  16. hpotter606

    hpotter606 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nagpur
    Avast is much better though partly beacause its update is very small
     
  17. Choto Cheeta

    Choto Cheeta Rebooting

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,202
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    220.225.82.33
    well i have that copy... as usual within 2 days it screwd up... slowed the system (WinXP SP2 over AMD 2600 with 512DDR)... so decided to uninstall which lead to a System Reinstall...

    Norton Removel tool doesnt work with this verion... :( and it self wasnt able to remove the program properlly... and which cuase some serious error on my system... DAM NAV...

    another thing is still this version doesnt support x64 OSes... i tried with Windows XP x64 and Vista x64...
     
  18. jounior

    jounior New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    will its look good but i stike to my mcafee
     
  19. go_gamez

    go_gamez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    navi mumbai
    is it available ..to public ??anyways i dont find any difference form ..norton 2006...maybe onlyy new definitions and a new name thats all !!
     
  20. saurabh.sauron

    saurabh.sauron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    problem with norton is that u have to activate it every year. it had corrupted all my previous installations. switched to antivir since then. NOD 32 and Avira Antivir rock...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page