cyboincomp

Broken In
hello geeeks

after alot of frustration from XP i come to find peace in linux
i am a total newbie so plz guide me
i have refered to the other linux theads
i dont understan what is distro or live cd

i have read that b4 installing u can use linux from cd or such
i have got two dvds of digit with fedora core(4 iso images in the dvd)
and slackware with 2 isos and 3 files of flash cs communication

right now i have 98 on my system
and i want to use linux as dual boot

plz help me put my contributio to open source

and if anyone in mumbai is having these dvd/cds is ready to help

raval_manoj

Broken In
Linux

@cyboincomp

Linux Live CD mean you can try complete Linux before makeup your mind to install
particular distro. Normaly live CD contains office applications and many other useful
packages also in single Live CD. To do this you have to make change in your BIOS
settings - make First Boot Device - CD ROM --> put the Linux Live CD in drive --> save
BIOS changes and restart the system. You system will boot through CD ROM (Linux)
Try latest Knoppix 4 Live.

If you are new to Linux don't try to install it yourself like any stupid window installation.
Though not much hard to install, but involvs some important initial setps about file system
type of hard disk partition, which is different from window's FAT32 system
If anything goes wrong it'll messup your hard disk, so before making any move don't foget
to backup your valuable data.

Knoppix 4 Live is really good to try.

OP
C

cyboincomp

Broken In
where do i get these go abt the whole stuff
is one of the two installations(fedora core and slack ware) in the digit dvd having a live cd in them

raval_manoj

Broken In
cyboincomp said:
where do i get these go abt the whole stuff
is one of the two installations(fedora core and slack ware) in the digit dvd having a live cd in them

Knoppix 4 Live CD included with Nov or Dec IT mag, exact I don't remember.