New CCleaner

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by ketanbodas, Sep 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ketanbodas

    ketanbodas New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
  2. Third Eye

    Third Eye gooby pls

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,293
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Not very far from you
    CCleaner is great !
     
  3. hard_rock

    hard_rock Salieri Family

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Internet.......Have dynamic IP addres
    Yeah... Removes ALL JUNK created by Windows, apart from erasing Browser history..
     
  4. nishant_nms

    nishant_nms New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    does it supports x64 XP
     
  5. blademast3r

    blademast3r New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Island of Time
  6. EagerBeaver

    EagerBeaver New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am alredy uses it GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD.
     
  7. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    Don't know whay but when I used this new version and cleared the crap from the comp, system tray icons, like net connection icon, USB drives icon are not showing in system tray :(

    All other icons r displayed, like avast! icon, spybot S&D icon, ZA icon, etc. But when I connect net, no icon is displayed in system tray. Same happens when I attach my Pen Drive, no icon is displayed in system tray! I didnt install ne other s/w after installing this new version....
     
  8. Third Eye

    Third Eye gooby pls

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,293
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Not very far from you
    Uncheck all the Advanced option in CCleaner.
     
  9. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    Now whats use of it? I think the option "Tray Notification Cache" might be behind this problem? :confused:
     
  10. Third Eye

    Third Eye gooby pls

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,293
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Not very far from you
    Uncheck it !
     
  11. aadipa

    aadipa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palghar, Mumbai
    May be they all go in 'Always hide' mode. Just change back to 'Always show' or 'Hide when Inactive'
     
  12. anandk

    anandk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    yes it is the 'tray notification' issue. this feature was there in earlier versions of ccleaner too. if ur 'scripting host' is active ccleaner (or ace utilities too) clears this tray stuff. deactivating scripting host will mean that ccleaner will not be able to clear this mess. else in future just uncheck this option in ccleaner.

    check this thread too http://www.thinkdigit.com/forum/showthread.php?t=19196&highlight=tray+notification
     
  13. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    ^^
    I know these options "How to clear those past items from tray", but the problem is now CCleaner has cleared these items and the problem has been started, now how can I get back my Net connection icon ( 2little computers in system tray) and the Remove hardware icon (when u insert USB drive) ?

    I hv done all the things, which I know, like

    1.) I hv deleted both IconStreams and PastIconsStream keys.
    2.) I hv also checked values of EnableAutoTray in:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer

    is set to 0.

    3.) The value of NoTrayItemsDisplay in:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer is also set to 0.

    4.) I also tried to replace systray.exe file with the new one extracted from XP CD but no benefit :(
     
  14. anandk

    anandk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
  15. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    thnx for the link :)

    But it was of no use, almost all the things I hv already checked.

    This problem is strange & unique, not all system tray icons disabled. avast!, Spybot S&D, Zone Alarm, Winamp, etc. icons r showing but net connection and remove hardware icons r not showing!

    I hv tried to replace following files also:

    explorer.exe
    stobject.dll
    netshell.dll
    syssetup.dll
    hotplug.dll
    systray.exe

    with the extracted files from XP CD, but no benefit!

    I'm now very frustrated wth I installed this sw/ :(
     
  16. n.regmi

    n.regmi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @Vishal
    Same thing happened to me when i installed previous version of ccleaner, the network connection icon disappeared.So i formatted & reinstalled the window xp lol.
     
  17. anandk

    anandk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    ...strange ....i wonder y this has not hapnd 2 me ever...i regularly use ccleaner...
     
  18. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    FINALLY!!!! I got it working :D

    Phew..... I tried so many methods, so many tricks, which I never tried in past :(

    And finally I found the reason behind it. When I was doing some R&D in registry for finding the reason, an Idea came in my mind. I tried to enable the option "Show Volume icon in system tray" in mmsys.cpl. For my wonder, it didnt work. When I enabled the option, no volume icon was displayed in system tray. After that I tried to open Powercfg.cpl file to enable Hibernate, and the applet didnt open. When I typed powercfg.cpl in RUN, nothing happened. Now I was very near to my solution :D

    What I did, I opened the DUMP of my XP setup and searched for the files having pow in their name and I found 4 files and when I checked in my system32 folder, there were only 3 and the file powrprof.dll was missing, thats it!

    I just copied the required file and rebooted the pc, and after restart the problem was solved! all icons started showing again :D

    Thats a huge BUG which I found in windows as well as CCleaner! How can a missing file cause other icons to be missing in system tray? and how can CCleaner delete that file? :confused:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page