1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Needed some more website building help pls............

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by satyamy, Jan 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. satyamy

    satyamy Alive Again...

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I m making my website
    i registered a domain name n searching for some good free hosting space(currently using awardspace)
    I made My home page i.e.
    mydomainname.com/index.html

    it's running perfectly fine
    now i created a directory "Gallery" for inserting my photos

    their i created two files mypics.html & familypics.html
    the link looks like
    mydomainname.com/gallery/mypics.html
    &
    mydomainname.com/gallery/familypics.html
    but its not opening

    i dont have idea abt this
    can i run html file which are in directory or not.......?

    or is this prob because of my hosting server........?

    I have seen my frnds website he also using same line like
    the first one
    hisname.com/gallery/index.html

    Pls Help.........................................
     
  2. mod-the-pc

    mod-the-pc Back to School Mr. Bean !

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chennai
    Did you try mydomainname.com/Gallery/familypics.html ?
    May be its case sensitive
     
  3. OP
    OP
    satyamy

    satyamy Alive Again...

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    ya i tried that
    but it did'nt worked

    i also tried
    mydomainname.com/gallery/index.html
    n this worked
    but i need to create 2 files i.e. familypics.html & mypics.html
    n they are not working..........?
    Pls help............
     
  4. ajayashish

    ajayashish Living to Succeed

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California, US
    can u give me the actual link... so that i can see
     
  5. NucleusKore

    NucleusKore TheSaint

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,435
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Antigua
    Are the files .htm or .html
    Both are not same, at least on the internet, you cannot exchange one for the other. Also check the case of all the folders and files. Preferably all should be lower case.
     
  6. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Post the link of your site here or send it to me in a PM. Without looking at the source code, it is not possible to point out the error.

    At awardspace, you have PHP and MySQL. Why don't you simply use some ready gallery software? Have look at these ones
    http://gallery.menalto.com/
    http://memory.org/point.b/open.source/
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2007
  7. OP
    OP
    satyamy

    satyamy Alive Again...

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    ok friends i'll try some readymade gallries
     
  8. nasa42

    nasa42 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    In case if you are interested in photo blogging or you want to use your domain for primarily blogging, here is the idea, now you have a personal domain, signup on blogger.com for a blog, and host your domain at google servers for free, without ads!
    for more info go here http://help.blogger.com/bin/answer.py?answer=55373
     
  9. champ_rock

    champ_rock champ_rock

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere on the earth , near the equator
    i think there might be some problem with the permissions.. :)

    right click on the gallery folder in ftp.. then select 755 or 777 as the permissions

    then it should work..
     
  10. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I forgot to tell you this. These readymade galleries need GD library with PHP for image manipulation (resize in this case). So confirm with awardspace whether it is there or not.

    If you have cPanel and fantastico, you can install Gallery from there too.
     
  11. ravi_9793

    ravi_9793 TechTin.com

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    4,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    LocalHost
    put the link of ur domain name here..We will chk it here.
    i will suggest you to buy some webspace from any good hosting company offering sql database.Our digit member@tuxfan is also engaged in these jobs.
    Using any gallery database will make ur work very easy.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    satyamy

    satyamy Alive Again...

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    i found the prob
    its with my hosting space
    can u tell me some good & cheap site for webspace
    i need to purchase a little space for my site
     
  13. ravi_9793

    ravi_9793 TechTin.com

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    4,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    LocalHost
    I think manshosting.com is cheep
    my website is hosted on goawebsolutions.com
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2007
  14. OP
    OP
    satyamy

    satyamy Alive Again...

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    i dint find any site with this name
    do u mean
    http://www.manashosting.com/
     
  15. ravi_9793

    ravi_9793 TechTin.com

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    4,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    LocalHost
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2007
  16. OP
    OP
    satyamy

    satyamy Alive Again...

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    thanks ravi
    "manas" is really cheap
    n
    i saw zeeblo.com
    it says i have to place text code in my site (which is provided by zeeblo)
    can u tell what is text code
    is it a type of some add............
     
  17. Choto Cheeta

    Choto Cheeta Rebooting

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,202
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    220.225.82.33
    well not a big deal, as like u write a Copyright info at the buttom of every page, u have to include a line, such as "Hosted with Zeeblo.com" hyperlinked to ZeeBlo.com home page... :)
    __________
    ..

    by the way, now ZeeBlo.com is owned and run by an Indian.. cool.. original service was down for a long and then it came back though, but right now its a Indian venture... cool...
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2007
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page