Need to buy AMD64 processor

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by catchjaga, Sep 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. catchjaga

    catchjaga New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi guys,

    Im planning to buy an AMD64 processor+Mobo

    My budget is around 7-8k

    From AMD site i got the price list as follows

    http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/ProductInformation/0,,30_118_609,00.html?redir=CPT301

    Im bit confused with what to buy

    I already have a 512mb DDR-RAM

    My confusion is whether i shud go for socket 939 or AM2

    Also what processor shud i choose

    3000+ or 3200+or 3500+

    is there much difference b/w them in gaming

    Though im not a hardcore-gamer..i play lot of games

    Im thinking of buying geforce6150 based boards

    So please suggest me as soon as possible
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2006
  2. jz2linkinpark

    jz2linkinpark New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rorikstead
    by am2 and 3000+
     
  3. OP
    OP
    catchjaga

    catchjaga New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @jz2linkinpark

    Also juz gimme the motherboard for this
     
  4. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Get a X2 3800+ .. AM2 or 939 .
     
  5. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Be prepared to overclock a lot with anything less than 3500. With 3500 mild overclock will do.

    Your games won't run/acceptably with onboard video, space about 10k for that alone.
     
  6. nishant_nms

    nishant_nms New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
  7. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    The budget is 7-8K for Procc + Mobo. The X2 3800+ alone will cost more than that.
     
  8. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Noop .. the new AMD prices has got the X2 3800+ to even under 8k's at places ... so it'll be around 8k's in most cases and is a very good budget processor on the high side i.e.
     
  9. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    Probably, but how will he get a Mobo for free?
     
  10. satyamy

    satyamy Alive Again...

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    AMD Athlon64 3500+ @ 2.42 GHz ,Asus A8N-E ,XFX 6800GS @ 500/1100 ,Hynix 2*1 GB DDR400 @ 404 MHz ,Seagate 2*200 GB SATA (II) Hdd ,Creative 2.1 ,Creative Inspire 5200 ,HP DVD-RW

    Do u know what will this Config Cost....?
     
  11. OP
    OP
    catchjaga

    catchjaga New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    By the way guys whats the final suggestion u give me....

    Reply me soon please...
     
  12. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Right now ... over 40k's ...
     
  13. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    @ stock or overclocked?................(just joking!)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page