need mobo to run 7600GS card

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by ashnik, Jul 24, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ashnik

    ashnik New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Thane
    Guys I have a gr8 problem,
    I have a BIG 7600GS/256MB PCI-e card and ASUS A8N-VM mobo. the card works on friend's intel mobo, but not on my a8n-vm. BIOS upgrade is of no use. There is a slight possibility that i may be able to return the mobo.
    Now plz suggest me a mobo which will definitely run my card.

    I can visit nebody's place in MUmbai and subburbs and try the 7600gs card b4 buying the mobo. Also does nebody have MSI K8NGM2 mobo? I am thinking of buying that, but i need to try my card first, as the dealer won't take this one back.

    PLZ help soon.......
     
  2. sysfilez

    sysfilez Welcome To The Jungle

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Living in a garbage can.
    i m using the same card with asus a8n-e and so far i haven't faced any probs.
     
  3. papai_mcc

    papai_mcc New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kharagpur
    go for asus a8n-e.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    ashnik

    ashnik New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Thane
    Thanks guys, but the price diff between A8N-VM and A8N-E is 1.5K+
    also never going to OC ne component.

    onboard VGa is prefered

    What about MSI K8NGM2-L/IL/FID mobo?
    Is MSI RS-482 discontinued? ne Mumbaian has it?

    iTS for a friend.
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2006
  5. geekgod

    geekgod New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if u r changing u'r motherboar for installing a graphics card..why are u looking for an onboard VGA? u have a graphics card itself..

    most of the boards without onboard VGA are performance boards and are a wee bit costlier than their onboard counterparts, and also have better features.

    i've always liked asus for boards, go with A8N-E for no SLI and no onboard VGA, and A8N-VM-CSM for onboard VGA.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    ashnik

    ashnik New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Thane
    As i have said, its for my friend, so there are restrictions on the budget.
    BTW, just to be sure can i try my 7600gs card on ur mobos..plz.
     
  7. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you never know when you need to oc?

    i too had planned no oc earlier, but now i have 2 choices:
    either put more money which i don't have
    or overclock the cpu
     
  8. OP
    OP
    ashnik

    ashnik New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Thane
    @akshayt
    no offence yaar, but I know my friend very well. He is doing Final year BE comps, but hardly knows abt the HW. OC is too far away.
    For him PC is just typewriter which can plzy games as well as show him some P*rn. Just dunno why is he doing BE...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page