need help OVERCLOCKING 8600GT

Status
Not open for further replies.

kooki

Broken In
i got an XFX8600GT 512 ddr2 and i wanna overclock it a little. im new to OC'ing.
stock- core clock-540. memory clock 400
when i change the clocks using ntune to anything above 620/450 the system crashes. why is that? what else do i have to change in ntune? never done this before. PLEASE HELP.
my cpu is q6600 and mobo is DG31PR. why cant i overclock it to about 700/500 and keep it stable? it crashes if i increase it by 50mhz.

asingh

Aspiring Novelist
Hi Kooki,

Overclocking is not that difficult...but you got to be really really carefull and follow some basic rules.

1. Be carefull -- OC'ing can burn out your card. Damage hardware.
2. Tweak the setting a bit...and test it for 15-20 minutes.

Use ATI Tools (works perfect with nVidia card) or RivaTuner. Tweak and TEST, Tweak and Test.

Am in office (will give you a more detailed procedure..in a couple of hours). If your system is crashing..that is not good. Your not overclocking correctly.

1. Get a good PSU. what do you have now ?
2. XFX 8600GT is too hot, thats the problem.
3. You should have gone for 256mb GDDR3 instead of 512mb GDDR2. Its actually FASTER. And better.

asingh

Aspiring Novelist
From where I left off....

Points to consider before Overclocking (OC'ing)....

1. Have a good power supply -- one which is a bit over quoted as per your system requirements.
2. Your card should have an excellent cooling solution. Not sure what XFX8600GT has..? To verify this..monitor the temperatures using Rivatuner. It should not go above 80C - 85C under full stress. (Though nVidia 8xxx series are good cards..and can sustain higher temperatures, better to be safe). If cooling solution is not good..mount an after market cooler. Something like Coolviva Pro SE (Rs 1800) + good thermal gel. Removing the original Cooling solution will VOID all warranties.
3. OC'ing can void your warranties.