Need help in upgrading to a SLI-solution.

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by grandexemplar, Sep 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. grandexemplar

    grandexemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Everybody,

    I'm relatively new to this forum. Basically, I’m from Delhi. About a month back my computer copped it. Now I am looking to upgrade my PC to a SLI-based solution. I use my computer for gaming and applications like Fruity Loops, Photoshop, etc.

    Now these are the components I’d like to upgrade:

    CPU: I have an AMD Sempron 2200+ -----> plan to upgrade to an AMD Athlon 64 3200+.

    Mobo: I have an Asus A7N8X-VM/400 mobo -----> plan to upgrade to a MSI K8N Diamond Plus mobo. I quite like this Diamond Plus mobo. The vendor says that Processor-Mobo combo. will cost me Rs. 15700.

    RAM: 512 MB (256x2) DDR -----> plan to add add another 512 MB. How much do you think 1 GB RAM would cost me?

    VGA: I have an Inno3D FX5700 with 256 VRAM (yes, I'm blushing) -----> plan to upgrade to a SLI solution. Have earmarked the XFX or MSI 7600GS PCI-E card. The vendor says that a couple of these would cost me Rs. 15000.

    Cabinet: I have a Mercury cabinet - nothing to write home about, generic stuff. I am looking for a new cabinet with a 500W SMPS. Need your feedback on what I should settle for. Vendor suggested a ‘Cobra’ model for Rs. 1800 but even that has a 450W SMPS.

    UPS: Local Generic make. What about the APC 650VA? Vendor says it'll cost Rs. 2900. Will it be enough to take the load... for instance, I am using my existing 17-inch monitor, 5.1 speakers connected to it. Any other suggestions?

    I’ll be spending close to Rs. 36k, if not more, I have a lot of queries in my head and I need a lot of help from you all in making the right choices. Basically to get a bigger bang for the same buck. Another important point, the vendor I spoke is going to deduct the total cost of the upgrade in lieu of the existing components that I replace. How much do you think I could get for my existing components?

    • Are there any alternative recommendations in the same price range from your end: possibly a better/more effective Intel processor-SLI mobo-SLI Graphics card option? Though I've always been an AMD guy, I could just be tempted by your suggestions.

    • Should I keep my existing Creative Audigy Platinum soundcard or not, given that the MSI Diamond Plus does have a onboard Creative Audigy2 SE chipset?

    Hoping to hear from you guys soon...

    See you 'round...
     
  2. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When you are buying midrange cards like the 7600GS, SLI makes no sense. Just buy a higher end card and you'll get the performance of 2 lower end cards without the hassle's of SLI. Anyways you can't afford SLI in a 36k budget.

    For 36k I think you should go for:

    Intel D965RY mobo Rs. 7200
    Core 2 Duo E6300 Rs. 10000
    1 GB DDR2 RAM Rs. 4500
    Geforce 7600GS Rs. 7700
    Cabinet+500W PS Rs. 3700
    UPS APC 650VA Rs. 2900

    Total Rs. 36,000

    Keep existing hard disk, sound card, monitor, speakers, keyboard, mouse.

    If the vendor gives you something in lieu of your current parts, use the money to upgrade to a Geforce 7600GT (Rs. 11000).

    Prices taken from http://www.deltapage.com/
     
  3. bharathbala2003

    bharathbala2003 why need title?

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CONFUSED!! AM LOST
    yes for 36K SLI option is not worth... and the net worth of ur old mobo,proccy,gfx card,ram(2X256) is bout 6K i don think its worth more than that at most..
     
  4. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    Get some 7900GS or 7800GS or GT as 2x7600GS is not worth. I would suggest got for the ASUS A8N SLI mobo for 6.7k. As u have a good sound card, rest of the mobo is top notch. Why wasting money for that cretive chip in MSI mobo as its adding up its costs as much as a standalone card.
    i woud suggest go for a 3500+ than a 3200+ as further overclocking of 3500+ is more worth nd price difference is less than 1k.
    ASUS A8N SLI mobo
    AMD 3500+
    7800GS
    Get another 2x512 DDR nr run in in dual channel like this:
    1st channel: 512+256 nd like the 2nd channel. So total is 1.5GB, but this could limit your memory overclocking potential, but u can sure do more than 2.6Ghz CPU.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    grandexemplar

    grandexemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @ drvarunmehta, bharathbala2003 & aravind_n20: Guys... Thanks a ton!

    @varun: when you wrote 'Cabinet+500W PS Rs. 3700', which brand/make were you recommending? Any "Dont's" that I need to keep in mind while purchasing the SMPS? :confused: For instance, dodgy brands whose SMPSes might get fried despite being rated 500W!

    Also guys, which combo would be the better?

    AMD ATHLON 64 X2 3800+ Dual Core Processor + ASUS A8N SLI PREMIUM

    or

    Intel D965RY + Core 2 Duo E6300


    ... with these components bringing up the rear:

    1GB DDR 400 Mhz RAM (Kingston)
    XFX GF7800GS
    Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum Super Mini Tower Case Cabinets
    APC 800VA

    ??? Pardon a newbie for inane questions...
     
  6. jz2linkinpark

    jz2linkinpark New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rorikstead
    your second option is definitely better,but what do you mean by
    'AMD ATHLON 64 X2 3800+ Dual Core Processor'?
    x2 is a dual core processor!
    but here is what i'd buy if i had 36,000:D:
    e6400 proccy
    asus p5b deluxe mobo
    1gb ddr2 667mhz corsair
    antec 450W power supply+cabinet
    7900gt graphics
    this is what i can get in vietnam for this much
     
  7. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    Hey that '+' is not to be read as +. but it should be read along with than 3800-like '3800+'.
    now its clear.
    __________
    I would say, dun go for that expensive mobo[A8N SLI premium] but get an SLI Deluxe or SLI SE and spend that extra amount on CPU or Gcard nd make it a 4200+ or a 7900GT.
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2006
  8. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Stick to Antec, CoolerMaster and you should be safe. But these come at a premium and if you can't afford it get a VIP or Powersafe PSU. Even if they can't provide the full 500W, atleast they'll give you 400W which should be enough.
     
  9. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    Ya as for this config a stable 400W is enough as he's not goin for SLI nd its just a 3800+ which needs less power than the Intel prescotes.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    grandexemplar

    grandexemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well... the words "lucky bastid" come to mind! :D Good fer you, man!
    __________

    Sigh... have dug deeper in my pockets and now am going in for an Antec cabinet, the 'TX1050B'. What say you?
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2006
  11. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You don't really need an Antec cabinet. They're really overpriced. Get any cabinet of your choice but get an Antec PSU to go with it.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    grandexemplar

    grandexemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Will do, boss.
     
  13. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    Y look for a good ventilated nd sturdy built cab in the market nd get a good PSU. If ur goin for ANtec PSU even a 400W is more than enough for single GPU system.
     
  14. OP
    OP
    grandexemplar

    grandexemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi there... Guess what? Went ahead and got the following config.

    * AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ (Dual Core Processor)
    * MSI K9N SLi Platinum
    * CORSAIR/KINGSTON 1GB DDR 400 Mhz
    * Two XFX GF7600GT 256MB cards (I was buying one n my sis lovingly bought another to gift me on Bhai Dhuj (unknowingly that I'd already bought one)... so the misunderstanding has left me with an SLI setup... well... it's all good!
    * Two SEAGATE 120 GB Barracuda SATA drives
    * LOGITECH G1 Optical Mouse
    * iBall Benz Cabinet
    * COOLER MASTER 550W Power Supply
    * APC 800VA

    Tossed a couple of original CDs of:

    * WINDOWS XP Professional
    * NORTON Anti-Virus 2006


    Retained the following stuff from my old PC:

    * SAMSUNG SyncMaster 753s
    * Creative Audigy
    * Creative Inspire 5.1
    * Generic Microsoft Keyboard
    * Sony DVD - Writer
    * LG DVD Drive
    * MSI TV@nywhere Master


    At that moment, could've gone in for an Intel D965RY + Core 2 Duo E6300 combo... but call it what you want... momentary lapse of reason or brand loyalty... I chose to stick with an AMD based solution. Photoshop'ng n gaming has never been better!
     
  15. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For this budget SLI is not wise. Get a 1900XT instead which will cut the crap out of that setup.

    Also, I suggest getting E6300. Anything less than 2GB DDR2 667 is not recommended and completely waste even for a single 7600GT. Get Logityech MX 518. Instead of CM 550, get NeoHE from Antec 500.
     
  16. OP
    OP
    grandexemplar

    grandexemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the feedback man, but unfortunately, I've already bought the config. Regarding the mouse, I'm a Lefty, and most of the gaming "mice" are ergonomically built to cater to Right-handed people. Sigh! So I had to settle for the G1.

    Also, the Antec NeoHE 500 is for Rs.6789 (www.itdepot.com)!!! Too steep for my budget, man!

    I'll really consider upping the RAM, though!

    I've started to reckon that Nehru Place/New Delhi sucks when it comes to buying performance components!

    By the way, where're you from?
     
  17. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you can get it around 6000 from delta
     
  18. OP
    OP
    grandexemplar

    grandexemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks for the info.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page