Need a Config for Gaming Rig

xenkatesh

Bewitched!
As i said above i need a good configuration. i am planning to Assemble a PC. So i need ur help ppl.. My investment is 55,000.. I m a damn fan of AMD. ill list my requirement below.. so please suggest ur configurations (with price if possible) i m from chennai..

1) Processor AMD Dual core with 1GB RAM (Only AMD not Intel please..)
2) HD 120GB or 200 GB (optional :) )
3) Graphics card 256MB (which supports future gaming atlest for next 3 years)
4) Speaker 5.1 (creative in my choice.. if u ppl have any other good speakers list it beow :) )
5) Gigabyte's Mother Board (i always prefer Gigabyte for AMD and for future upgrades as well... :p)

suggest some good product that meet this requirement ...please help me in this....

Thanks & Regards
Michael

samrulez

1>3800X2 or higher
2>200GB SATA (II) Seagate
3>XFX 7600GS/GT or 7900
4>Creative SBS/Mega/Giga works (what ever fits ur budget...)
5>Go for ASUS A8N VM or A8N-E.....
6> go for 512X2 or 1024X2 GB ram....Put them in dual channel....

deathvirus_me

Well ... u can go for a X2 4400+ as long as it is in the market ... Hdd would definitely be a SATA II 200 GB atleast

But i don't think u'll find anything related to graphics card that'll last 3 years .. even if u put ina 7950GX2 SLi ... it'll have a hard time after two years , since the current gen. of dx9 card will soon be out ... dx10 is on its way ...

akshayt

Your budget is basically of a lower mainstream gaming solution or a low end rig in terms of gaming.

I would suggest to wait for Intel Conroe, just remember one thing, it consumes less power than Amd yet even the cheapest core 2 duo which will be around 10k or so will compete FX55/X24400 or so, maybe a tad more.

Intel Core 2 Duo E6300
Wait 2months so that there are some decent priced mobos else there is only low end and high end, don't know whether 2 months will get any decent priced mobos.
Let cpu + mobo be 15-25k, if you ask me with this budget it makes not much sense to blow more than 15k on cpu+mb.
Wait for conroe if not please PM me so that I can explain in detail.

Keep in mind that for gaming mainly these 3 thigns will count:
1)GPU
2)Memory
3)CPU

Just remember than a Amd 3000 64 with 7600GT is better for most games than a Amd X2 4400 with 7600GT, 1) most games are not that dependent on CPU on high settings 2) You can oc the cpu

Nothing less thand 2gb ram will do.
et yourself 2 X 1GB DDR 2 667 Corsair or some other ram, this is around 12k , actually 12.5-13k

Graphic Card: Min 7600GT/X1800GTO aroudn 12-14k or so
Recommended: 7900GT and up around 18k or up

Current Most games:
7600GT: 1024*768 High/Max
7900GT: 1280*1024 High/Max, maybe a tad better
Tough games:
7600GT: 1024*768 Med
7900GT: mostly 1024*768 Max/High
6 months down the line you will regret a 7600GT when you play games at 800*600 med or maybe even lower if you are unlucky.

Also, no system of this budget will do more than 1yr max without upgrade, a 7900GT might do some more time, but that sits.
After 1-1.5yrs you will need dx 10, dual core etc, no piont in taking a dual core with a 7600GS or even with a 7600GT unless you plan to upgrade the graphic card soon enough.

Be prepared to upgrade in the next 1 yr at the max.

HDD: SATA II NCQ (Seagate) 160-250GB or 300GB

Local ATX cabinet
Cooler Master 450 watts psu or 430 or better

bharathbala2003

why need title?
DUAL Core AMD X2 - 4200 939 Socket 19400
Gigabyte K8N51GMF nF51,V,8C S,GL,16xPCX 3750
Tran. 1.0 GB-DDR-400 533 MHZ - PC4000 3800X2
200GB - SATA Baracuda / Puma 7200r 4200
7800 GT PCE version is about 18 i think..

akshayt

the above rig suggested is a BIG NO for your budget.

Wait for Conroe PERIOD
If you don't, then either wait for price fall or get Amd 64 3500 + Asus A8N E, total around 11.5k, cpu + mobo combined
Ram: 1gb X 2 DDR 400 for Amd
Graphic Card: 7900GT PCI E around 18-19k

samrulez

Try and get 2X7600GT or 7900Gt is u can....it would be the best...but too expesive...
But it will last for 3yrs....U can play all games but not with everything...coz Dx 10 cards will be there....

xenkatesh

xenkatesh

Bewitched!
Woah... so i m gonna wait till DX10 Cards Release... by the time there willl be nice price slash on X2 Processor and MOBO.. And also i have my budget by 50k... :p so any one knows the price of 250GB & 500 GB Hard disk Segate & Western Digital... :? Any know about the S-Series AM2 Motherboard for AMD X2 Processor ???? please give me some info on that motherboard if u know...

Major Question & Doubt..
I m damn fan of AMD
while comes to X2 Processor Intel or AMD?? Which one will give best performance.. if any one have a review please provide the link on that...

PS:
akshayt
thx so much for ur reply.. by the way can u give a nice config for good gaming rig.. with price if possible... let me check weather i can able to make them... :p

Can u explain me these.. :p
1)GPU
2)Memory
3)CPU

samrulez

xenkatesh said:
Woah... so i m gonna wait till DX10 Cards Release... by the time there willl be nice price slash on X2 Processor and MOBO.. And also i have my budget by 50k... :p so any one knows the price of 250GB & 500 GB Hard disk Segate & Western Digital... :? Any know about the S-Series AM2 Motherboard for AMD X2 Processor ???? please give me some info on that motherboard if u know...

Major Question & Doubt..
I m damn fan of AMD
while comes to X2 Processor Intel or AMD?? Which one will give best performance.. if any one have a review please provide the link on that...

PS:
akshayt
thx so much for ur reply.. by the way can u give a nice config for good gaming rig.. with price if possible... let me check weather i can able to make them... :p

Can u explain me these.. :p
1)GPU
2)Memory
3)CPU

well when DX 10 card will be released they will be extremely Expensive.......

As of now.....AMD rulez in X2......

For gaming u mainly need memory and gfx card..........

Seagate 200 GB SATA (II) is within 4K

bharathbala2003

why need title?
akshayt said:
the above rig suggested is a BIG NO for your budget.

Wait for Conroe PERIOD
If you don't, then either wait for price fall or get Amd 64 3500 + Asus A8N E, total around 11.5k, cpu + mobo combined
Ram: 1gb X 2 DDR 400 for Amd
Graphic Card: 7900GT PCI E around 18-19k

well i suppose he wanted amd dual core dude that is y i suggested tat :) cos X2 is gr8 but too costly i know.. n 3500 is also decent no doubt but he wanted a dual core AMD.. :)

and xen prices are ex-chennai :) i keep assembling 2 sysa week so need some help in ritche st do mail up tho am home for hols now ;)

akshayt

7900GTX>7600GT SLi>7900GT
You can't afford 7900GTX or 7600GT SLi.
7600GT SLi= imo crappy option, rather get 7900GTX by spending some more
7900GTX=Rather get Radeon 1900XT
7900GT= Not a bad deal in India, abroad get a 1800XT for the price.

Even if you buy a 1900XTX it won't last over a year-two(two=fully crap)years tops, even if you get Quad SLI it won't last more than 1-2yrs, Directx 10 comes out you will need Dx 10 which you won't have, Dx 10 for good play, so more upgradation.
Under normaly circumstances, any graphic card even if it is high end can't last overr 1-2 yrs and your budget doesn't even permit a high end card.
Little over a yr ago a 6600GT could play most games at 10X7 MAX(normally without aa and af) or higher, most but not all, today it struggles in GRAW even at 800*600 lowest. Just think if you had got 6600GT SLi, you would still struggle at 1024*768 low to med or med at the max. Don't expect much fron a mainstream card.

By the time you will actually be able to buy Dx 10 in India it would be Q4 2006 or Q1 2007, that will probably be release time only for high end. Mainstream maybe released 3-6months or more down the line. High end at the time will be in the range of 25-40k or so and since these cards will be very power hugnry, consider investing about 10k on the PSU alone. So this is not in your budget, waiting for mainstream can be a year of waiting and by the time it is anyways time for your next upgrade.
Nothing that you buy in this budget lasts 3yrs, many times even with the biggest of budgets things won't last 3yrs, cpu and ram and maybe even the highest end mobo may, but not graphic card. CPU (spend 40-80k) and make it last 3yrs, no point, right.

I asked somebody and he said that prices of conroe won't be cut soon, more mobos maybe out but none may be in your budget anyway. Don't get X2, get a E6300(Intel), it clearly beats X2. Don't get AMD: PERIOD

*www.behardware.com/articles/623-1/intel-core-2-duo-test.html

You may get 250gb around 4.2k and 400gb around >10k.
Get Seagate SATA II NCQ drives.

Amd 3000 64 + 7900GT>Amd 64 3700 + 7600GT in most cases that is, especially considering the fact that you can OC the cpu in most cases.
A low end or mainstream card is useless with a high end cpu or even a mainstream cpu. But a low end or mainstream cpu might still be able to manage something with a high end card. Low end: Amd 64 3000 or Intel 3.2-3.6 or higher. Don't get anything below a 7900GT.
Also, no matter what CPU and GPU you have:
FEAR will stutter at max settings without 2GB ram
BF2 will have probs at 12X10 MAX
Quake 4 will have probs in Ultra

GAMING RIG
Intel E6300 + Asrock mobo = 15k
Mobo not great, may not oc, but that is what your budget permits.
Recommended option. If you can spend about 10k more here, it would be great.

X2 3800(after price cuts) + Asus A8N E = Around 13-14k or so

Amd 64 3500 Venice + Asus A8N E= Around 11k or so
Recommended only if you don't want to wait at all and don't want to spend much, however I recommend Intel E6300. Even if you oc the cpu of Amd 3500 you shouldn't have probs in any/mist games with repsect to the cpu, as of now that is, or current crop of games that are already out.

RAM INTEL
2 X 1GB DDR 2 667 Corsair D9 chips I think, around 12.5k

RAM AMD
2 X 1GB DDR 400 Transcend (Chips: UCCC(UCCC is recommedeed) or Hynix D43) : Around >7.5k and <9.5k, varies per city and all
DDR ram can be used in that Intel mobo but is not recommended as DDR2 667 will give mroe bandwidth but higher intel mobos won't support DDR ram.

Graphic Card
7900GT Asus/Leadtek/XFX= around >19k or so

HDD
250GB SEAGATE SATA II NCQ: around 4200 or so

Creative Sound Blaster Live 24bit or Creative Audigy Value(audigy maybe better, not sure, please aks others): sub 2k, it gives better sound and rise in FPS as well. try not to skip a sound card.

A combo and a DVD RW: around 4.5k, actually you may get it for a tad more than 4k

Local cabinet, aroudn 1-1.5k, a small brand maybe for 1.5-3k or so.

FDD

Antec SP450 or better, around 3.5k+, almost 4k, please check with others whether it will do or not.
OR Zebronics (Skyhawk oem only) 540 watts, around 5k+, a good PSU is not actually very cheap.

Microtek 800 va ups around 2k

Samsung 798MB PLUS, around 7k, not sure. Ask others for better monitors.

Speakers:
Altec Lansing 251, <4k

Logitech MX518: around 2800, consider Genius ergo or sometinhg with mouse pad for around 2300 or so, I would prefer Logitech though, but Genius has a laser 2000dpi considered to Logitech 1600 dpi optical, anyway I prefer Logitech, please check.
If you can't even afford this: then consider:
Microsoft Optical Comfort 3000/5000
Microsoft Optical Wheel 1.1 mouse
you will get comfot 3000 around 900.

Microsoft Basic Internet KB or Multimedia KB( not sure which is better though),

yogi7272

ok .. here's my two cents ..

sick of listening that amd rules... are baba it used to rule before the world knew abt conroe .. whole world knows its a processor worth waiting for .. just because intel produced p 4 prescott .. it doesn't mean that they cannot produce good cpus .. conroe rocks .. in my opinion we haven't seen a new processor with such a huge performance increase over current generation till now .. it overclockes well .. consumes less power .. works very well with stock intel heatsink when oced .. performs better than amd at stock speed in all applications including games .. doen't heat up ..
just wait for 27th july ..

also avoid seagate .... i have very bad experience with them ... produce lot of noise during operation ...bad sectors .. so pls go for wd or samsung.. specially, their sata drives are pathetic ..

yogi7272

akshayt said:
Samsung is crap I think.
Seagate Sata II NCQ maybe faster than any you stated.

ok .. i have got seagate 7200.9 300 gb sata 2 ncq drive .. gave me prob with in a month .. produced a lot of noise .. also bad sectors .. has been replaces onece .. its not psu prob either . i have antec sm 500 w .. also my older 7200.7 seagate 200 gb sata has been to service centre thrice and its not even completed a year .

dont know much abt samsung.. but western digital is damn good .. i went for seagate just for their after sales service which is excellent .. but their sata hdds suck big time .. atleast that's my experience with them ..

xenkatesh

xenkatesh

Bewitched!
Thanks a lot for ur reply guys... i m gona wait some more days until the processor war ends (as well the cut down prices on mobos & processors :p ) adn the release of dx10 gCards... :p

akshayt

Dx10 will release probably in Q4 06 or Q1 07 in India. Don't expect them to cost less than 30-35k. Only if you are willing to shell out 40+k at the minimum on the gpu+psu should you think about them, that too 6 months or so down the line, you don't want to get the one which is from the worse company, do you?

Also, for mainstream you will need to wait 6-12months atleast, so no point.

Get a X1900XT and stay happy, if you can't afford that then you anyways need to stick to Dx9. 1900xt around 30k.

Conroe preponed, more like mid July in America.

xenkatesh

xenkatesh

Bewitched!
Ya i know i need to wait for more than 12 months in order to get a good gfx card... as of now i m planning to get a normal pc and later ill upgrade my Cpu & Gpu to high end.... with dual processor, 2gig ram, 250Gb or more HD and dx10 card. :Thumbs Up:

akshayt

No dude, you didn't get it. You don't need to wait 12 months to get a good graphic card. New graphic cards are released about every 12 months or so and sometimes they are changed by a better part may be in 1-2 more times in a year.

If you buy your graphic card then, there would be still somethnig much better to be released in a few more months.
You will almost never get a high end card below 25k or so, maybe around 23k, at the moment high end will be 28k or so and up.

Don't wait, you are doing a big mistake, there is no end to the upgrade cycle.

Just get your budget to around 60k and buy in August. Also, 2 GB is soon going to be less, that time you will need to get 8-16GB.

Just remember, about every 12months you need to upgrade, if you buy it that time then again a year or so down the line power ful dx 10 will come out and you will again need to upgrade.

Just get it now. August