1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

msn and proxies

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by theraven, Aug 27, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    hey guys i just installed a proxy server for my wireless adhoc network
    everythign worked
    but my msn gives error code 0x81000306 which is logon time out
    i put the proxy setting in right and tested the connection .. it said it worked
    but it still wont connect
    also using yahoo thru the proxy ... i cant see the emoticons and audibles in the msg window
    i can see them when i type it but as soon as i press enter and send it .. it doesnt show up on the screen
    neither can i see the emoticons sent to me
    i get the "x" which u get when an image doesnt load
    using audibles ... i cant see the pic that comes along... that space is just blank
    this might not be bcuz of the proxy ofcourse but i really need it to work
    also my yahoo chat doesnt connect and viewing webcams gives an error
    all this thru the proxy
     
  2. devianthulk

    devianthulk New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry.. don't have a solution to ur problem.

    I'm just curious to know how much u invested in the wireless
    network setup in terms of hardware/software ??

    I hope u dont mind. Would like to set one up at my place if its
    its not too expensive. Plz lemme know.
     
  3. Deep

    Deep Version 2.0

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    okay..
    tell me what software do u use ?

    there should be something called traffic policy or something where you can open and close some ports.. ?

    why dont u use transparent proxy?

    ever tried Kerio Winroute Firewall ? (www.kerio.com)

    Deep
     
  4. OP
    OP
    theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    i dun have any idea abt proxies deep
    i just got this software proxy+ from the net and i set it up ...
    so if u can step me thru it then that would be gr8
    @devianthulk i had a wifi enable laptop
    i bought a pci card for 4k and thats it .. set it up
    u can set up a wireless network between 2 pc's for 8k and less
    just get a good company like dlink or linksys
     
  5. alib_i

    alib_i New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    omnipresent
    see ..
    i dont have much idea abt wireless
    but i do use proxies to connect to net through lan

    now..
    msn messenger seem to have a stricter policy with connections ..
    so even MY msn messenger doesnt usually connect THAT easily ..
    ym connects peacefully .. and then ... it gives me 5 buzzes together ..
    5 different people buzz me at different times and the messege reaches me after some time .... together!!!
    even ppl seem to log-out and log-in together in a bunch of 3 to 5.
    funny isnt it...
    but msn messenger takes care of all this by keeping the connections alive for more amount of time .. and that need better connection which most proxies may not be able to give ..

    this is my inferece... any views
     
  6. Deep

    Deep Version 2.0

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    i will suggest using Kerio Winroute Firewall..which acts as Proxy server also..and then you can setup Trasnparent Proxy in it...so you dont have to provide any proxy address in MSN or IE...

    you can download it form http://www.kerio.com but i am not very sure about availibility of pirated version....

    take care
    Deep
     
  7. OP
    OP
    theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    aight will give it a shot and keep u guys posted. thanx y'all
     
  8. OP
    OP
    theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    hey thanx for the help guys
    i just installed another software avirt gateway and it works now
    tho i still cant see the emoticons in yahoo ... i guess ill have to live with that
    thanx @deep
     
  9. Deep

    Deep Version 2.0

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    no probs man..

    check this...

    http://help.yahoo.com/help/in/mesg/twin/twin-40.html

    it might help you with the smileys..

    Deep
     
  10. OP
    OP
    theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    got the smileys working too :D
    thanx again
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page