1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

mounting FAT filesystems in Linux

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by cyanide3d, Feb 23, 2004.

?

Which distro is better?

  1. Red Hat

    100.0%
  2. Mandrake

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. suse

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cyanide3d

    cyanide3d New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    hi!
    out of sheer curiosity due to the huge amount of hype being generated, i installed linux.(fedora core 1)
    earlier i had tried out a slackware live cd and it detected my filesystems and other stuff. but in fedora, i am not able to access my windows(fat) drives. i tried the mount command in various ways:
    Code:
    mount /dev/hda1
    Code:
    mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/dosc VFAT
    but it kept giving me the error that /dev/hda1 could not be found in /etc ...
    please help me since i like to do my worl while listening to songs and i cannot play any
     
  2. Kiran

    Kiran New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mangalore
    Mounting Windows partition in Linux

    Hi cyanide3d,

    U can use mount the windows partion in Linux.

    use
    Code:
    man mount 
    in the terminal for more information.

    But if iam not wrong the format of mount command goes like this:
    Code:
     mount -vfat  /dev/hda*?* /mnt/[folder] 
    U will have to provide a proper device number for the partion u want to mount. U can know the device number using the command
    Code:
     fdisk -l 
    in the terminal.
    Note: Extended partition as a whole has a device number.DONOT MOUNT IT.

    U will have to make a folder in [root]/mnt/ directory where u would like to mount the new partition.

    For convenience you can create a text file and type the mount complete mount command & save the text file with .sh extension. Give it execute permission. Store a shortcut for the file in desktop. Click it! Voila!!! the partition mounts......


    If ur a Linux panta u can go for editing fstab file located in [root]/etc/ folder.

    But if ur windows partition is NTFS ( if u r using win2000 or winXP ) mount command will not mount unless Kernel is Recompiled (in case of Redhat iam sure of this ).

    _________________________________________


    _________________________________________
     
  3. BONZI

    BONZI New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palakkad Kerala
    Try this make a folder in /mnt (name it something like c:)

    Then open etc/fstab

    Add the following lines (I'm not sure I'm now working in win2000)

    /mnt/c: vfat hda1 .

    You will find something similar in the above lines. In the Fs column use vfat and in the column of /mnt/... Use the name of the folder created in mnt. and hda1 for c:
    If you are confused I'm sorry next time I will run in linux and clarify your doubts.
     
  4. Prajith

    Prajith New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nebuchadnezzar
    create a mount point
    type mkdir/mnt/windows at the command prompt
    then mount fat 32 partitions by using command
    mount/dev/hda1/mnt/windows for ur c: (proceed similarly for others)
    else use command
    mount -t vfat/dev/hda1/mnt/windows

    now access from /mnt/windows
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page