motherboard for pentium4 2.0 ghz

Discussion in 'CPU / Motherboards' started by Akhil Jain, Apr 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Akhil Jain

    Akhil Jain New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rohtak
    guys i have pentium 4 2.0 ghz processor on williamatte core
    400mhz fsb , 256kb l2 cache , 478 pins

    my current mobo is from microtek and did not justify my processor and is a bottleneck..... it also does not have room for upgradation since it was a cheap budget board. moreover with only 4 mb onboard graphics it sucks

    no slot for graphics card also
    so I WANT TO CHANGE MY MOTHERBOARD
    plz suggest from asus , gigabyte or msi . also my friend says foxconn is also good.

    i have two ram sticks 256 mb each @266 mhz..
    suggest a good motherboard with its nearby price
     
  2. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can use chipsets of Intel upto 875 I think.

    845 - Still rules the market
    865 - Is a decent board
    875 - 865+goodies...

    These migh come around 4000 at max (not sure, but its definitely old)

    You can go for MSI/ASUS. I have tried them both and they are real good :)
     
  3. Third Eye

    Third Eye gooby pls

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,293
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Not very far from you
    Intel 915 GAG is better !
     
  4. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If i'm not mistaken, socket 423 was the Williamette core while socket 478 was Northwood.

    Yes but it uses the LGA 775 socket. It won't work with his proccy.

    Best option would be to buy a 865 mobo or replace both mobo and proccy with current generation ones.
     
  5. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. ashu888ashu888

    ashu888ashu888 Core i7 (nehalem) Owner

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    AFAIK, Intel has stopped production of 865 Mobos... Coz i myself hv an INTEL D 865 GBF mobo and wen i enquired abt them (a couple of months back) the dealers told me that Intel has stopped its production..

    Cheers n e-peace.....
     
  7. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes it has stopped but the support and some few boards are still available, better grab em' ;)
     
  8. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    If you can find one then you are lucky as hell but you will still have to pay a premium. A new 865 board will certainly not come at 4000 bucks. These dealers see how desperate you are and then fleece you accordingly.

    IMHO sell both the board and processor as a "kit". You will get better value for your products as they sell very easily in combos and then buy a new AMD processor with mobo. Much better option.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page