1. Hi Guest
    We are running a survey about laptop service in India, and we'd love your inputs. Please help us improve the quality of laptop servicing, and if you've had any bad experiences, now is the time to be heard.
    Take the survey

Monitor trouble

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by Ricky, Sep 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ricky

    Ricky Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Hi guys..

    I have a Microtek 15" monitor, it was working fine,
    but from last 6 -8 dayz it was giving delay in starting, ie after starting nothing appears on screen for few minz, that time goes increasing and today nothing has appeared from last 3 hrs,
    Well I kno I have to now goto service center , but before that I wanna know that wht could be the problem ?

    ONe more thing !! sometimes it automatically changes the color of screen (ofcourse when it was working) , changes the color of screen as cable is loose but cable is fine.. and then automatcally get to normal !!

    So guys plz suggest me wht could be the problem !!

    and also hw much service center guy can charge for it ?

    wAiting..
     
  2. OP
    OP
    Ricky

    Ricky Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Haddd. ho gayi.. no body even have a clue ?
     
  3. djmykey

    djmykey Let the music play.....

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    Yo either its monitor cable is gone. Its not much of a costly affair. But if the monitor is not turning on and that time is increasin steadily then man ur in deep sh!t then go to a service center u trust coz in a problem like this there is a tendency to say that the EHT is gone and the put a heafty bill on ya so go see it. And man i need ya help man gonna make a project in Linux so pls help me can ya pm me at michael_kale_in@yahoo.com
     
  4. wORm

    wORm New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bombay
    I had similar problems with one of my monitors, delayed start, screen turned green at times. The technician told me that it was some kind of a minor electrical problem. Your picture Tube etc. is probably fine, I think you may have to spend upto 500 on repairs.
     
  5. GameAddict

    GameAddict New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Something same happened here...

    Hi,

    I came across a similiar problem few weeks back. Monitor was showing a green tinge all over the scree.Had to go for repair (Rs.350/-).Some soldering was loose.It's working fine now! :)

    GA
     
  6. suave_guy

    suave_guy pedal to metal

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    The green screen u guys are talking about happends/occurs due to the presence of magnetic field around/near the monitor like unshielded speakers/subwoofers and the cure is to degauss the monitor screen. Most of the newer monitors have this option to degauss the screen and this should be done only once within 30 mins. to avoid any damage.
    If you dont have the degauss feature then just leave the monitor and it will be back to normal colors after sometime.....You shud also place ur speakers at some distance from the monitor to avoid such problems.
    As far as the delay in displaying the screen is concerned i think there's a problem with electron gun which is causing the delay in the electron eruption which in turn is delaying the warming up of the screen, and hence the delay in the display of the screen.
    I'm not too sure though....this is just a guess/estimate

    Enjoy :)
     
  7. wORm

    wORm New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bombay
    suave_guy, the green screen we are talking about is not due to the tube getting magnetised. Its a power problem that makes horizontal green lines appear on the screen, unlike blotches which appear after the tube gets magnetised. Deguassing doesn't help.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Ricky

    Ricky Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Seems to be my case but they were not lines..

    Well will go tomorrow to service center !
     
  9. suave_guy

    suave_guy pedal to metal

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Thanks for correcting me worm....Well the magnetising of picture tube also causes the green patches and thats what i presumed....

    Enjoy :)
     
  10. gaurav_018

    gaurav_018 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i also have a problem with my monitor

    in the past few days. at random intervals my monitor flickers, britens and then acts like i degaussed it. it happens only sometimes. what do you think is the problem? it's happened about 5 times in the last 3 days. i keep my comp on 24/7.
    also the problem happens both on linux and 98 so it's not a driver problem.
     
  11. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    well its simple
    its a monitor problem
    whatever it is .. service it .. or get rid of it as fast as u can
    it just gets worse
     
  12. busyanuj

    busyanuj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    the "green" tinge appears if one or some of the pins ( that connect the monitor wire to the back of the cabinet) are broken and need soldering.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page