Modem Woes

Discussion in 'Networking' started by superuser, Nov 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. superuser

    superuser New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am using P 3 933 / MSI 6137 Mobo + 256 Mb Ram 40 Gb HDD and using Win XP PRO.Recently I purchased a D-LINK DFM 560ES 56 Kbps External Modem but whenever I connect to the Internet it says "Connected at 40 Kbps or atmost at 44 Kbps during latenights/earlymornings. All I want to know why is it so ? Is it not that the 56 Kbps Modem Connect at 56 Kbps or even higher if possible ? or there is some tweaking to be done for that? Please help ..... :(
     
  2. klinux

    klinux New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    same thing happens with my hsp56k internal modem . if u want real speed units , try dumeter to check actual speed of ur connections
     
  3. godzi_85

    godzi_85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    you`ll never be able to connect at 56 kbps.. ever....
    the max you can reach is maybe 50-53... but very rarely...
    but hey you do get speeds of around 4-5kbps right??? if yes then nothing to worry about..

    i got a 33.6kpbs external 12 year old modem... i can connect at a max of 28kbps... but i always get speeds constant at around 3.6-4kbps..... anytime of the day..
    and around 6kbps at night..(rarely though)
     
  4. vysakh

    vysakh New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Old trafford
    the maximum speed that i have got is 54.4 .
    and u will never get more than 56
    there are many reasons for this. the server to which u r trying to connect may be busy. ur phone line may have small disturbances...............
     
  5. NikhilVerma

    NikhilVerma New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    930
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    The speed depends on your ISP...

    for eg I have used Disnet Dial for two years and te maximum speed i could ever reach from it was 33kbps

    while sify connection always gives me the speed of 44kbps
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page