Mobo for 478 socket processor

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by ashfame, May 31, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ashfame

    ashfame New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi / Jaipur
    i hav a 478 socket P4 with Intel Sea Breeze D845GVSR mobo.
    it don't hav a AGP or PCIe slot, so pl suggest me a cheap but good mobo with a pcie 16x slot which has nothing less in features than my current one.
    i wish to buy one 7600gt. (all the budget goes here)
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2006
  2. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nopes there aint any mobo with PCI support for socket 478. U can go for D865/75 chipsets... it supports 8x agp and u might get a good card in those... not 7600GT i guess
     
  3. OP
    OP
    ashfame

    ashfame New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi / Jaipur
    so suggest me a AGP 8x based mobo that supports DDR.
    Is frequencies of RAM & Processor are also considered while looking for a mobo?
    I think 6600gt 256MB is available for AGP 8x slot.
    kindly post how much performance will it give as compared to its pcie 16x variant?
     
  4. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I dont know about performances of these cards since I am stuck with an MX 4000 :(

    Mobo = 865 (budget buy and easily available, supports 800Mhz FSB and 400 Mhz DDR RAM)

    Try finding the 875 for additional performance and stuff...
     
  5. cyrux

    cyrux New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hyd
    What about 915gav .........................??
     
  6. ymhatre

    ymhatre New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai, Vile Parle - East
    First of all
    Hi to QWERTYMANIAC...
    NIce to see you here in HAardware section...
    Has u said there no mobo for 478 with PCie...soory wrong comment
    check this link
    http://www.webhallen.com/prod.php?id=41439
    only thing i know is tht for this mobo u need 533FSb proci....
    no 400FSB will work....
    as far as i know only P4 2.4d onwards proci were having 533 FSB...
    THE cost of this mobo is 3200 Rs
     
  7. OP
    OP
    ashfame

    ashfame New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi / Jaipur
    @ ymhatre
    nice find but my cpu fsb is only 133Mhz.
    So if i go for mobo of urs then this proci is useless.....hum....
    what can i get if i sell my current mobo & P4 2.8Ghz?
    i mean how much? any idea....
     
  8. ymhatre

    ymhatre New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai, Vile Parle - East
    a month ago i did the same thing

    i selled my 2.4 400 FSB proci and intel 845Gb mobo to only get Rs 5000 from the dealer....
    Hope u will know get 5000Rs- 6000Rs....
    BUt i did tht a month or two ago... after tht there were prices down...
    so u might even get 4.5- 5K
     
  9. OP
    OP
    ashfame

    ashfame New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi / Jaipur
    is it true that prices will fall when intel new core proci will be launched this year, in aug or sept.??//
     
  10. shovik

    shovik Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hooghly
    don't go by guesses. if you wanna good mobo go for MSI's 845PE Max 3 series. I hope you will get everything you want in this motherboard.
     
  11. tiblu

    tiblu New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  12. OP
    OP
    ashfame

    ashfame New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi / Jaipur
    my real clock is 133mhz & my effective clock is 533mhz.
    can i hav it?
     
  13. ymhatre

    ymhatre New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai, Vile Parle - East
    Yup then u can have it Its 533mhz....
     
  14. OP
    OP
    ashfame

    ashfame New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi / Jaipur
    r u sure?
    or else i would end buying something that is of no use to me.
    does only the effective clock is talked about. may be it cpu fsb or ram frequency?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page