1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

mIRC on DHCP Enabled LAN?!?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by GameAddict, Jul 29, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GameAddict

    GameAddict New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Hi,

    Can anyone help me with running mIRC (www.mirc.com) over a DHCP Enabled Windows 2000 LAN? No settings are required for browsers (such as proxy, firewall, port etc.) to connect Internet. But for mIRC the connection times out :( . Any possible remedies?:?:

    Bye!

    GameAddict
     
  2. Deep

    Deep Version 2.0

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    hmm i am also on DHCP..
    my public IP changes everytime i connect to the net..

    till now i havent faced any problems :)

    are you behind any firewall or proxy ? that might be creating problems..

    Deep
     
  3. OP
    OP
    GameAddict

    GameAddict New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    MIRC on DHCP enabled LAN?

    Hi Deep,

    Can you please tell me your mIRC settings or pass me the mirc.ini file to gamerz-nospam(at)rediffmail.com? I coonect Y! messenger by enabling "Firewall with Proxy" option. any ideas?

    ByE!

    GA
     
  4. OP
    OP
    GameAddict

    GameAddict New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Sorry it is "Firewall with No Proxies" in Y! Msgnr.

    Subject line says it all.
     
  5. Deep

    Deep Version 2.0

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Re: Sorry it is "Firewall with No Proxies" in Y! Msgnr.

    well i havent done any special setting in my mirc but you can check this option in MIRC..

    tools - options - Connect > Firewall

    in Firewall support Select Both and in Protocol Select Socks4

    give it a try and see..
    or may be you can search MIRC forums also (http://trout.snt.utwente.nl/ubbthreads/ubbthreads.php)

    Deep
     
  6. OP
    OP
    GameAddict

    GameAddict New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Done it!

    Hi all,

    Was able to run mIRC with Firewall as "None" and port at 80. It works!

    Bye!

    GA :wink:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page