Microsoft Announces Vista Hardware Requirements

Discussion in 'Technology News' started by AiM, May 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AiM

    AiM Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    INDIA
    Microsoft announces requirements for Windows Vista Capable" and "Windows Vista Premium Ready" PCs

    Microsoft today laid out the groundwork for what constitutes a "Windows Vista Capable" and "Windows Vista Premium Ready" PC. The actual final specifications for Microsoft's next generation operating system have been speculated on for the past few months, but as we inch closer to the Beta 2 build of Vista, things are starting to become clear.

    Vista will run on just about any modern computer released in the past few years. An 800MHz processor coupled with 512MB of RAM is the bare minimum for running Vista. You won't get all of the fancy graphical enhancements and you most likely won't have a very pleasant experience performance wise either. For me, it's bad enough running a Windows XP system with a lot of windows open that is "crippled" with just 512MB of RAM (between Photoshop, FireFox and its memory leaks and the countless other programs I run), so I couldn't imagine limping around on Vista with only 512MB.

    More Info
     
  2. shovik

    shovik Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hooghly
    You may be right, but I have somthing else to say. I quote "Nigel Page is a strategist with Microsoft Australia. He told APC today that Vista would work best on a video card with more than 256MB RAM, 2GB of DDR3 memory and a S-ATA 2 hard drive."

    Source::TechEd 2005.

    So get yourself a good DirectX 9.0 compatible video card with 512MB of physical memory and you are ready for a visual treat.

    Regards,
    Shovik.
     
  3. borg

    borg New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delta Quadrant
    The only thing that puzzles me is WHAT THE HELL DO THEY NEED 15GB FOR?????????!!!!!!

    Is this a PC OS or some device to make nuclear bombs & discover alien life forms????
     
  4. LegendKiller

    LegendKiller New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well then microsoft should forget it then....new pc users who will buy pc when vista is launched or who have a deep pocket even deeper than depth of pacific ocean will buy 2gb ram,a video-card...
    i am pretty happy with 512mb ram.....
     
  5. aryayush

    aryayush New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,594
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida
    Who would want to spend so much on the PC hardware just to make the OS run well, except people with bottomless pockets!
     
  6. abracadabra

    abracadabra New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how much hard u abuse it one day finally u will see a windows Vista loaded system.
     
  7. fnatic@play

    fnatic@play New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UT 2004 DM maps..
    lol... who here owns a Dell XPS 600 renegade??? =))
    tats CRAZY to say the least... fools.

    15 GB doesnt make a nuclear bomb OR discover alien life.. else all of us wud've made or found (respectively) by now... :p!!!!!

    jokes aside.. this is crazy... i am happy wit my tweaked x64 xp... >: )!
     
  8. Delta

    Delta New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Right Here
    Download Microsoft upgrade advisor here.

    It says for aero glass, a video card with shader model 2.0 is required.
     
  9. nishant_nms

    nishant_nms New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    I need to buy RAM and a graphics card.
     
  10. crazy_dexter

    crazy_dexter New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Vista may be good for whether it's performance or how it looks. But right now I think a few people may like to switch to a new OS as everyone is familiar with XP. And also we have to think about the cost for running Vista. But XP was also new some years ago. Just let the prices to fall. This is the only thing that will let us upgrading our PCs. I think we have to wait for at least 2 or 3 years.
     
  11. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    U can check if ur pc is capable by installing Windows Vista Upgrade Advisor from the microsoft's website.Well I recommend everyone to upgrade their ram to 512 MB or more,but wait for a graphics card if ur not a gamer and tight on budget.They will remove something inexpensive to run Vista.But still Vista beng such a system hog,I wonder will we be able to run applications that require 512 MB of ram in XP.That is why I will not leave XP for atleast 3 more yrs but Vista will also be there in the Dual Boot option.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page