MBR problem!!!

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by deepankars2002, Jun 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. deepankars2002

    deepankars2002 New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a Western Digital Drive.
    It is not detected by the BIOS.
    When another HDD is connected, the Western Digital Drive is detected but the problem is that Windows XP Setup cannot access the Western Digital Drive. I tried using Seagate utility software but even that also is not able to access the HDD. Both XP setup and seagate tool detects the HDD but is not able to access the HDD. What problem is it and is there any solution to rectify it? I think that it is a MBR problem, so if it is a MBR problem,can anyone refer me a nice MBR software to rectify the HDD problem.
     
  2. bikram_singhy

    bikram_singhy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Pune
    Can u specify

    1) which Motherboard u r using?
    2) What is Capacity of the Hard Disk?
     
  3. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Try enabling "large" access mode in bios.
     
  4. khansdream

    khansdream New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Skull Island
    Contact bikram_singhey, he will replace ur hdd to a new one....!!!!:D (check for his thread)

    Well, if u r sure that u got MBR problem, format ur hdd leaving first few cylinders.
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2006
  5. ::vicky::

    ::vicky:: New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    0X4B7H
    update ur bios
     
  6. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    hey if it is a sata drive(open the case and search for orange wire connecting hdd) then u need to install sata drivers from floppy.if not try solution quoted by others.
     
  7. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    What hdd ru using ??? and mobo ???
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page