Max Payne 1

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by mark, Dec 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mark

    mark New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dear Friens,

    My sys config is:
    p4 2.8/865gbf intel original mb
    512 MB ram
    80 gb hdd
    winxp
    Max Payne is not running on my PC....it comes out during loading.....what might be the problem?
    Thanks in adv...
    Mark

    I have DirectX 9.0....Dont have Graphics card....Sooo...shd i reinstall DirectX?
     
  2. saROMan

    saROMan QA Juggler

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    format c: /s/u/x
    give some more info..bro......any ways ...seems prob w ya directX ....
     
  3. Neeraj

    Neeraj New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    hey

    i think max payne requires at least a basic graphics card
    have u got it coz generally wit p4 u get one
    also when u start the game u get a confi screen with resolution and stuff check all the options o`er there n if u dont have a graphics card try software emulation instead of hardware o`er there
     
  4. krish

    krish New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur >> Mumbai >> Thane
    Try this:

    Make a shortcut for the .exe file on the Desktop. Now right click on the shortcut select properties. In the Target box, add -disable3dpreloads after the " & " . So the box will look like:

    "x:\--------any path" -disable3dpreloads

    click OK and now try.

    Nope Max Payne don't needs graphic card I've played it on Celeron-500 128MB RAM & 810i board.
     
  5. klinux

    klinux New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i ran both MP1 & 2 on my onboard graphics card , via km400 , one of the worst :) in graphis lol . anyways . supports only up dx7 . so not many high end games for .

    - run directx , under display see if all options are enabled (ie they should be highlighted and not greyed out) .
    - if not available , reinstall dx with new version
    - check update for onboard graphics drivers u have
    - check if u have option to change memory allocated for video in bios . change it to the next best option . say 64 mb . and increase AGP aperture option in bios .

    - try setting all options in game to low and increase gradually if no errors occur .
    - disable most background programs b4 running the game
     
  6. krish

    krish New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur >> Mumbai >> Thane
    klinux, u still have a better one I have KM266 (Pathetic) Can't find a better one in Jaipur
     
  7. tarey_g

    tarey_g Hanging, since 2004..

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,360
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hanging..
    The problem is obvious, simply install max payne 1 patch which has a fix for the intel orignal motherboards(this will surely fix it) . No other big problem . ur rig is better than needed for this particular game, enjoy the gr8 game. :D :D :D :D :D :D
     
  8. vysakh

    vysakh New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Old trafford
    in my compu, mp didnt run on winXP.
    i installed 98 for this purpose and my attempt was successful
     
  9. OP
    OP
    mark

    mark New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks

    Thank u all for ur advices....i m trying out all ur advices....hope each one works...:)
     
  10. club_pranay

    club_pranay Nokia 7110 to iPhone 5

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    and while you enjoy the game pls follow the storyline also, and after you blow the chopper dont forget to install and play MP2

    and let us know if u want the cheats
    btw,
    i am 1 of the millions of Max Payne fans
     
  11. OP
    OP
    mark

    mark New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    STill not working yaar...

    Tried out each and every tech.. adviced by u all.....but to no avail....Please help.....Also I m not able to run Medal of Honor, Pacific assault"" it shows incompatibility error of video with directx8.1

    Regds
    Mark
     
  12. NikhilVerma

    NikhilVerma Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    930
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Did U try the patch because that one is sure to work...
    Coz the same problem happened to my brother...
    he as Intel Extreme Graphics card and MP1 didn't run on his PC until I installed the latest patch....
     
  13. psappuin

    psappuin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    Hey Mark i even had the same problem, with Max Panyne 1 on XP but it worked on win98 perfectly. but i was able to run MP 2 on XP. didnt found the reason Y?????????????
    Amit
     
  14. Aseem Nasnodkar

    Aseem Nasnodkar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Panaji - Goa
    MP1 dsn't work on XP. Hw much ever u try, there is no patch. So 4get using it on XP. Go 4 some other OS if u r a die hard fan of it. MP2 works. Dat is as cool as MP1. C if u can gt dat!
     
  15. magnet

    magnet Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    check whether onboard graphic card drivers r updated or not(minimum 32mb set in bios config)..............well i played max payne 1 properly first time...now in part 3 moving to chapter 7...it causes hardware failure and system reboots automatically......my onboard graphic driver suxs here.......
     
  16. infernus

    infernus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well pal, is the copy a legal one? Yup, Max Payne doesnt work on XP for me too.
     
  17. ctrl_alt_del

    ctrl_alt_del A Year Closer To Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,369
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    I am able to play Max Payne 1 on my XP with a SiS 650 onboard card. But at the same time, my friend with Intel Onboard Graphics is unable to do so. Sometimes the game crashesin the splash screen itself and soetimes after the first level has been loaded. I think this is a problem exclusive to Intel Graphics family.
     
  18. bharathbala2003

    bharathbala2003 why need title?

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CONFUSED!! AM LOST
    me too.. i could play it on my PC with XP i dint have any hinges.. but it was a pirated copy (already cracked so no cd req) and it was on my onboard intel graphics card (4mb only!!)
     
  19. Darthvader

    Darthvader Back From Deathstar

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rome 233 B.C
    dude put it on win 98 compatibility mode
     
  20. abhijeet_ghosh

    abhijeet_ghosh New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    That's bull shit. I play Max Payne 1 & 2 on Win XP without any probs.

    Another reason why getting a console makes sense. No technical issues to worry about.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page