low-end gfx card for vista

Discussion in 'Graphic cards' started by ikinji, Jun 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ikinji

    ikinji New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    okay
    please help me
    which is the better bet for AGP 8x

    GeForce 5200 128-bit 256MB
    or
    GeForce 6200 64-bit 128MB

    i know both cards are not as good and outdated but still.

    also does anyone know if GeForce 6200 128-bit is available in indian market and about what prices?


    thanks.
     
  2. Darthvader

    Darthvader Back From Deathstar

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rome 233 B.C
    no u shud certainly go for the 128 bit edition which is available in india
    and the 6200 is certainly better than the fx
     
  3. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    From your choices, the 6200 obviously. But why dont you opt for a 6600 (non-gt) instead for a few extra bucks? It will give you good enough performance...

    btw, I dont think 6200, 6600 are capable of running vista to the max, I havent heard if they are vista compatible...
     
  4. gxsaurav

    gxsaurav Guest

    geforce 6200, 6600GT can easily run vista, i have myself tried Vista on my FX 5900XT & a borrowed 6600GT AGP, they both run vista with equal speed, it's just u will need to disable a few always on services (search indexer.exe etc) for more speed

    I would say that u get a 6200, that has Shader model 3.0 & Purevideo, which will also assist in other things compared to just running vista. the best would be a 6600GT, but if thats out of budget a 6600Non ultra or 6600LE should be enough, it won't last much in games, but more then enough to Run vista, & purevideo. just make sure u get 128 MB
     
  5. chota_rod_waala

    chota_rod_waala Banned

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    u give me money i will get 6600
     
  6. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Go for the 6200....its enough to run vista with aero enable..
    I think it costs around 2600-3300....

    There are 2 models 6200 and 6200 TC....in the turbo cache version u can share ur system with V-Ram..
     
  7. OP
    OP
    ikinji

    ikinji New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    okay guys thanks for all the replies

    i am considering
    6200 AGP 8x 128-bit 256mb
    for 3900/-

    but you guys are suggesting 6600 (LE or NON-GT)

    /*
    edited:
    also is FX series is that bad that even 128-bit and 256mb of 5200 against that of 64-bit and 128mb of 6200 is no good?
    */

    so can anybody confirm that 6600's are available under 4000/- for AGP 8x
    or any other card better than
    6200 AGP 8x 128-bit 256mb (that im considering right now)
    for 4000/- or less (like 5700 or 5900 for AGP 8x - i dont know)

    i cant raise the budget coz i'll be upgrading my RAM to 1GB and buying TV card and other things.

    so please suggest best bet
    under 4000/-
    AGP 8x
    (may be better than 6200 AGP 8x 128-bit 256mb)


    many many thanks again.
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2006
  8. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    6600 128 MB is available for 5k.......
    Are u sure u want to go for the 256MB version coz in 6200 the v ram is not the bottle neck......
     
  9. OP
    OP
    ikinji

    ikinji New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah im not sure
    infact ive no idea about gfx cards
    i was just following the "bigger is better" funda
     
  10. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no...well..6200 is the best low-end card around....and it can smoothly run vista......for gaming also u can play games at low-mid settings.....
    but if u get a 6600 u can play most of the games at mid-high settings...
     
  11. OP
    OP
    ikinji

    ikinji New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the reason im keen on getting low end card is that i'll be buying a completely new computer in dec or jan next year.
    and my current system has AGP 8x slot

    so i'd rather buy high end gfx card with the new system with PCI-E
    and morely ive adjusted my budget in other things
    the prices by then would come down too.

    and the reason i decided to buy
    6200 AGP 8x 128-BIT 256MB
    card bcoz i couldnt find
    6200 AGP 8x 128-BIT 128MB

    only found 64-BIT for 6200 128MB cards.

    is there any perf. degrade with 256MB cards, coz i read in the BIG GFX CARD thread on this forum, someone said they use slower RAMs in 256MB cards so they are usually slower in there 128MB counterparts.
     
  12. Darthvader

    Darthvader Back From Deathstar

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rome 233 B.C
    since u wil get a new comp soon go for the 128 mb 128 bit one only, it will serve ur purpose for now
     
  13. OP
    OP
    ikinji

    ikinji New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    5200 or 6200

    as i said earlier i couldnt find
    6200 AGP 8x 128-Bit 128MB
    (and didnt even searched for 5200 128-Bit 128MB)
     
  14. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    Try to get ATI 9600pro or XT. They both performs better than 6200 nd will be cheaper.
     
  15. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If ur firends are selling their old graphics card u can use their cards......

    But if u want to get a new card now...then go for a 6200 (non TC) 128 Bit and 128 MB......since u are going to get a new system at the end of this year don't get a 6600 stick to 6200......

    And regarding the 5200,there is a little price difference between 5200 and 6200.....
    But if u can get a used 5200..u can use it for a few months..
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2006
  16. tarey_g

    tarey_g Hanging, since 2004..

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,360
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hanging..
    I have no idea what u r talking abt , a 6200(AGP) is certainly better than a 9600pro , see the benchmarks . Also 6200 has new shader support.
     
  17. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually he is right 6200 has support for Shader Model 3.0 along with Pixel Shader 2.0.....
     
  18. chota_rod_waala

    chota_rod_waala Banned

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Leadtek 6200 128MB 128bit (WinFast A6200 TD) is still available in hYd CTC ,COmputer collections

    http://www.leadtek.com/3d_graphic/winfast_a6200_td_2.html

    and soon its going to be discontinued bcoz leadtek is withdrawing from graphic card dept. and foxconn will support its cards.

    in XFX or big u cant find 128MB and 128 bit

    SO my advise will be to get some money from qwertymaniac and get 6600

    in this way both will be happy
     
  19. OP
    OP
    ikinji

    ikinji New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    actually what i wanted to know that 5200 (AGP8x) with 128-bit and 256-mb both double of 6200's (AGP8x)64-bit and 128-mb would do any good?

    thanks.
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2006
  20. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    NO..still 6200 will be better coz the 5200 gfx processors itself is very under powered.....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page