Low buget graphics card

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by Wraith, Aug 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wraith

    Wraith New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I need a graphics card and my budget is abt rs 4000.I think i can get the geforce fx 5200 128mb or geforce mx 4000 64 mb or ati radeon 9200se in that amount but i cant decided which one to buy.I am not much into gaming but do play NFS Undergorund and Simcity and Quake 3.
    I just cant seem to make my mind up....and also i cant find any reviews for the mx 4000.

    Please help!!
     
  2. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Geforce 4 Ti4200 128MB (256bit) for Rs.4900 or stick with ur fx5200 but it's a bad deal imo, rather get this card and u will be able to enjoy DOOM3 properly.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Wraith

    Wraith New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Not in DOOM3...just wanns play NFS Underground...more that enough for me!
     
  4. suave_guy

    suave_guy pedal to metal

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    yea even i think geforce 4 Ti4200 is a better deal even if you want to play just NFS Underground.... and no doom3....

    And what will you do if NFS undergound2(going to be released at the end of the year) hits the stores ;)
     
  5. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Care to elaborate !
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Wraith

    Wraith New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    elaborate on??...i dont wanna play doom3...all i care abt it NFS U
     
  7. hafees

    hafees New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kerala
    DOOM3 is supposed to be one of the best pc game on earth. and u dont want to play it? :(
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Wraith

    Wraith New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I really dont care abt the hype and stuff....i just wanna play what i am comfortable with and besides i dont like FPS...i am more into racing games.
     
  9. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Ok got ur point ........i thought u meant something else.
     
  10. demoninside

    demoninside New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dehradun
    chip Graphic card

    Having GeForce4 MX 4000 128 mb
    Supporting DX9.0b and working cool for 4000rs round :D
    so can suggest u that
     
  11. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Re: chip Graphic card

    Mate the geforce 4 series doesn't support DX9.0b.
     
  12. ice

    ice New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    gf4mx is dx7 :d
     
  13. anidex

    anidex New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here's how it is :-

    GeForce 4 MX: Pretty much a GeForce 2.
    GeForce 4 Ti 4200: DX8.1 compliant - read as "already dead".
    GeForce FX 5200: Basic DX9.0 compliant - atleast it'll last for a while (perhaps an year or slightly more).

    So, the choice is quite straight forward.
     
  14. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Anidex the fx5200 sucks and big time. I have the card and i regret buying it in the first place. On contrary to what you said about the Ti, there seems a bit of a demand for Ti cards these days. If i were to spend 4-5k i'd do it on the Ti4200 rather than the measly 5200. But i guess to each his own, so the fx5200 might find some favour with ........
     
  15. anidex

    anidex New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sure there's a demand, most people in India don't have a clue about graphics cards. If you buy a Ti 4200, you WILL NOT be able to play any games that will be released in the near future, most of them will set DX9 as the baseline. Anyway blade, trust me, you didn't do a mistake by buying an FX 5200. If you had bought a Ti 4200, you would've regretted it much more.
     
  16. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    i know cuz i play everyday with this crap piece of hardware and ppl with Ti who play the same games as me seem 2 get good fps as compared to me. Seriously man i think u shud use this card once, plus this bloody thing has 64bit memory against the 128 bit memory of the Ti. the clock rates for the Fx5200 are 250/333 as against the 250/500 of the Ti. Anyways u dont lose anythng other than some effects if you are using the Ti range.
     
  17. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ti 4200 has 256bit memory interface.
     
  18. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Get your facts straight before you post !
    Source
    Source
     
  19. gxsaurav

    gxsaurav Guest

    Blade_runner get your facts right, DX is always backward compatible, even if your card supports DX 8.1 & the game is DX 9c even baseline on the Ti it will run fine at DX 8.1 mode, automatically, although some game require U to enable a switch to use a special path for DX 8.1 mode like Halo
     
  20. anidex

    anidex New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    64-bit bus? You must've got the FX 5200 LE/VE not the FX 5200 non-Ultra. That does SUCK a little.

    Do we need to go over this again? Most games to be released about 8-10 months from now will NOT support DX 8.1, so what's a Ti owner gonna do?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page