linux trouble pros help me

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by quantum, Aug 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. quantum

quantum New Member

hi their everyone

im a newbie here n also a newone to linux i installed ubuntu frm dvd i got frm digt installing was no problem i had a dual boot option for windows xp sp2
    cause im new to linux

but suddenly after installation my broadband was acting strange

working as if it were a dial up connection a mere 5 mb download became heavy

could this be due to linux and windows both co existing

or was it just due to some coincidence n my cable is distorted

for now i have installed windows again n formatted linux partitions

connection seems to be better again kind of

plz reply u guys r using linux n i am greatly interested but not on cost of my bandwidth plz do help

2. Pathik

Pathik Google Bot

the connection cant be slow due to ubuntu.. 4 more wait till jguru or tyf come here

3. Sykora

Sykora I see right through you.

This is interesting. When I installed linux, my internet speed increased, not decreased. But then, my speed is ridiculous anyway.

Let's see. It's highly unlikely that linux installation is influencing the speed of your broadband in windows. Linux doesn't intrude that way. I don't know if it's a coincidence. If you want to experiment, install only ubuntu, and see what happens.

4. Rollercoaster

Rollercoaster -The BlacKCoaT Operative-

there ia no corelation between no. of OS and download speeds. it is totally independent of each other.

u r telling me that after installing linux ur broadband suffered. this is impossible. another OS does not interfere with the one running. the are completely different entities.

Last edited: Aug 23, 2006
  5. QwertyManiac

QwertyManiac Commander in Chief