Linux! Susi!! help me out!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

majig

Broken In
I am new to linux. I have tried three distros till now!
- Rad hat, Knopix and Susi. Susi(personal edition - from digit DVD)
looked the most impressive. First it looked great and it natively supported
my NTFS pertitions. Soon I got hooked into it. But few problems are
giving me lots of problem. I want you guys to help me out.
1. I made susi to auto login my account. But many a times it gets stuck in text mode
after login command. (Infact just for this reason i had to reinstall susi 5 times)
2. Why is it that two programs in Susie cannot access sound drivers(?).i.e I cannot run both mplayer and XMMS. It gives an access error. Is it general or my machin specific.
3. Also there is a sound problem with quicktime movie files that ran from Digit CDs. Though the video runs smoothly no sound comes out. I have installed both GXine and Mplayer with all the codec(i mean native W32 dll codecs). Yes i tried in 'text mode' also
4. My machin is PIV 1.8 Ghz., 845GL chipset mother borad with 125 MB Ram. Now I cannot run quack3demo in susie but it run smoothly in Radhat 9 in the same system.
I have install Mesa lib.
5. Finally I have an internal Frontech PCtel HSF 2868 MicroModem. After a lot of search in net i have comes to this conclusion its better to get a external one. But any one with help is welcome. There are linux drivers for the modem in its CD. But i have not able to install it.

it_waaznt_me

Coming back to life ..
Okay .. First its Suse :p ...

Hmm now to your problems ..
When you login to your account and gui doesnt come , on the command prompt type :
StartX (press enter)
Btw .. If that doesnt help then type :
xconfig (press enter)
Configure your graphic system with it .. You can also use:
Yast2 (press enter) and then clicking on Hardware > Graphics ..