Linux Newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

nishant_nms

Cyborg Agent
I am new to linux. I has just installed Ubuntu 6.06. Now I have a trouble. I want to enable support for mp3 files. Plz help me out. And don't ask me to search the forum I had tried it and I got more confused. Plz explain in detail and step by step. I had always been a Windows fan and I hope that all of u out there will convert me into a linux fan.

The Outsider

Beneath The Eyelids
open terminal,
type "sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list"
text editor will open with a file, scroll to its end and paste these lines
Code:
deb *archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu dapper main restricted universe multiverse
deb-src *archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu dapper main restricted universe multiverse

deb *archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu dapper-updates main restricted universe multiverse
deb-src *archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu dapper-updates main restricted universe multiverse

deb *archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu dapper-backports main restricted universe multiverse
deb-src *archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu dapper-backports main restricted universe multiverse

deb *security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu dapper-security main restricted universe multiverse
deb-src *security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu dapper-security main restricted universe multiverse

deb *packages.freecontrib.org/ubuntu/plf dapper free non-free
deb-src *packages.freecontrib.org/ubuntu/plf dapper free non-free

deb *archive.canonical.com/ubuntu dapper-commercial main

deb *wine.sourceforge.net/apt/ binary/
deb *wine.budgetdedicated.com/apt dapper main

deb *deb.opera.com/opera/ etch non-free

deb *kubuntu.org/packages/kde-latest dapper main
deb-src *kubuntu.org/packages/kde-latest dapper main
deb *kubuntu.org/packages/koffice-latest dapper main
deb *kubuntu.org/packages/amarok-latest dapper main

deb *compiztools.free.fr/debian unstable main
deb *www.beerorkid.com/compiz/ dapper main

deb ftp://cipherfunk.org/pub/packages/ubuntu/ dapper main
deb-src ftp://cipherfunk.org/pub/packages/ubuntu dapper main