Linux Enviorement in Windows

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by DukeNukem, Sep 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DukeNukem

    DukeNukem Come get Some

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Home Sweet Home
    hye There.
    Help me here.

    Iam quite new to unix/linux Envoroment.
    Organisation iam working with uses telnet to connect to unix/solaris server for all kinda work. Now starts the real thing
    i have to access oracle using telnet, but thats ok. editor for oracle is vi. somehow i manage to use it.work to be done in a minute takes 5 minutes.


    Is there any FREE Software or FREE utility using which i can have a linux/unix environment in windows, Plus using which i can access all drive and program (command level) available in windows. Ive heard of MKS Tool Kit but thats not Free.
     
  2. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Why don't you just learn using live cd's? Knoppix is really great in that matter. I haven't tried cygwin, but maybe that can come of use to you.
     
  3. JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    @DukeNukem, Use Cygwin It's free. It provides a Linux-like environment for
    Windows. Download it from here

    Cygwin FAQ Click here

    Cygwin User Guide Click here

    Cygwin API Reference Click here

    Visit Cygwin Home Page : http://www.cygwin.com/

    Also try KDE on Cygwin, is a port of Qt & KDE to Windows using Cygwin.
    Visit their website : http://kde-cygwin.sourceforge.net/

    I hope this one solves your problem.
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2006
  4. ilugd

    ilugd Beware of the innocent

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    alternately you can set up a virtual machine and install linux on that. (gotta have a good system though.)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page