intl 3.00 Mhz 2Mb cache 64bit
samsung 17" monitor
80 GB SATA Samsung HDD
C: winxp pro 40 GB
D: sony DVD writer
E: empty 10GB
F: empty 10GB
G: empty 20 GB
Now I want to install Linux along with Win xp(pro) Please give adv as to how to do it in a step by step manner as I am not a techie

rajkumar_personal

Ignorance is BLISS !!
Visit the following site

*www.redhat.com/docs/manuals/linux/

And download the manuals for
1) Installation
2) Getting Started
3) Custimization
4) Reference
5) Security
6) System Admin Guide
7) Glossary

etc......

But NEVER try to mess with the Linux system since I did the same when I was taught Linux some 7 years back and I screwed up my linux installation ...... and that time linux installation was not as easy as these days.
You should Experiment though......but with extreme care !

And one more suggestion.........
try and refrain yourself from logging in as root (Administrator for Linux) and you'll be safe!

I hope I'm able to help you ! (I simply can't guide you through the installation process here !)

ashu888ashu888

Core i7 (nehalem) Owner
Please see this thread and u will be thru with all ur confusions for installing LINUX as ur 2nd OS..as it helped me alot (as a newbie)

www.thinkdigit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=36717

There are many LINUX techies/experts there and will help and guide u in a simple way. I too hv installed Linux (Fedora Core 4 a.k.a FC4) as my additional (2nd) OS and im very happy with it using and learning too.. :)

BTW, to install Linux as ur additional OS, u will 1st hv to make a new (RAW) partition say of 10 or 20 GB (neither FAT32 nor NTFS) then u will hv to boot from the CD ROM drive using ur Linux CD and use this partition to install Linux. The file system in Linux are of the type ext2, ext3 etc. (the same way u hv FAT32 and NTFS for Windows). Wich Linux distro are u having ?

Cheers n e-peace....

mediator

Technomancer