Linux and the govt.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ksnaveen

Right off the assembly line
Dear Friends,

I am not a computer expert but a user. I need to know some of the facts. And I think this is the best platform:

Is it safe to keep the source code on the net, if a govt chooses to go for linux?Please inform me about any govt that has completely migrated to linux. It is better if we can discuss this matter at length. We are hearing a lot about open source these days. Few (both computer experts and those who have no idea of computers) are argueing that open source is the best way. While others are expressing the fear to the length of somebody taking the source code from the net and writing a virus and create havoc in govt depts. Is this a true fear?

Thanks,

KS NAVEEN

Ashis

In the zone
Hunn.........

Ur Concern is right !!!
It could give a Virus writer a insite of how Linux functions allowing them to find flaws & exploiting it :?

But for that, It would requir a good deal of knowledge !!!

tuxfan

Technomancer
Not only governments, there are a few schools as well who are on GNU/Linux now. I read about one of them from Bangalore. Its Marry Land High School. However, here's a small list of organisations that have adopted GNU/Linux for their working.

1.Merry Land High School, Bangalore
2.2070 Government Schools in Madhya Pradesh
3.Mantralaya, Mumbai
4.Indian Railway Catering Department
5.Tis Hazari Courts, New Delhi
6.Breach Candy Hospital, Mumbai where A.B.Vajpayee & Amitabh Bachchan had their surgeries.
7.Life Insurance Corporation of India
8.Chinese Defence Department

pallavnawani

Broken In
ksnaveen said:
Dear Friends,

I am not a computer expert but a user. I need to know some of the facts. And I think this is the best platform: