1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Kyun ki Kubuntu bhi kabhi Ubuntu tha.

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by startmenu, Feb 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. startmenu

    startmenu New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bhubaneswar
    FINALLY GOT MY INTERNET CONNECTION & DIGIT FORUM ID.

    DUAL BOOTED KUBUNTU WITH WIN XP TODAY,D PROBLEMS R--

    1- NO ROOT ACCOUNT WAS CREATED AT INSTALLATION TIME & I CAN'T

    LOGIN AS ROOT. BUT LOGGING AS NON-ADMINISTRATIVE USER,CONSOLE ACCEPTS

    THE NON-ADMINISTRATIVE PASSWORD AFTER su,BUT pwd REMAINS SAME,i.e

    /home/user. IN CONSOLE CREATING A NEW ROOT SHELL ACCEPTS D PASSWORD

    OF NON ROOT AND pwd CHANGES TO /root. HOW SO ?


    2- BY DEFAULT BOOTS KUBUNTU, HOW TO CHANGE BOOT ORDER,XP IS ON

    /dev/hda1 AND LINUX ON /dev/hda3.

    3- TRIED TO INSTALL MPLAYER , ./configure --enable-gui SAYS MY GCC VERSION IS

    2.93 ,NOT SUPPORTED,HOW TO GET HIGHER GCC VERSION & HOW TO INSTALL.

    I'M COMPLETE NEWBEE TO TUX WORLD,BUT I WILL NOT SLEEP TONIGHT TO

    GET MY ANSWER. SO ALL THE WISE MEN OUT THERE ...
     
  2. Satissh S

    Satissh S New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai , India
    Welcome!

    1. By default the root account is disabled, you can use most of your Admin Tasks done by using sudo.
    For Example use:-
    $sudo <task>
    for using things as root user.
    $sudo passwd root
    <type YOUR password>
    Enter NEW UNIX Password: <------->
    Re-Type Password to Confirm: <-------->

    2. To Edit the /etc/boot/grub.conf file to change the boot order, do
    $sudo vi /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    < Your password >

    (i) Press [INSERT] change Default from 0 to 2 (which is Windows)

    (ii) Press [ESC] and type :wq to save the file and quit vi.

    3. Be root,
    $ su
    $ <password>

    (i) Download GCC 3.4 From here.
    http://ftp.gnu.org/gnu/gcc/gcc-3.4.0/

    (ii) Go to D/L directory using cd command.

    (iii)
    # tar -xzf gcc-<press tab to autocomplete>

    (iv) The GCC docs recommend building gcc outside source directory.

    (v)
    # mkdir build [ENTER]
    # cd build

    (vi) Type the following command as such
    # ../gcc-3.4.0/configure --disable-nls --enable-shared --enable-languages=c

    (vii)
    # make bootstrap

    (viii)
    # make install

    (ix) Create a symlink pointing to our new gcc
    # ln -vs gcc /bin/cc

    Good Luck!
     
  3. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Hey satish he's using kubuntu. So, he can get new GCC 3.4 using apt-get
    Just type 'sudo apt-get gcc-3.4'. That will work fine. I just tried it on my Ubuntu system.
    Also, you will get mplayer in the same fashion. Most of the common software you need can be got by apt-get or by using add application under applications in menu bar.
     
  4. Satissh S

    Satissh S New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai , India
    Ya, that's prolly, the easiest way, but he didn't mention nything abt his net connection. So i said that.
     
  5. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    But how does that make difference cos he has to download it anyway. If you're talking about downlaoding it from another PC or windows partition then he can better download .deb packages of GCC 3.4 from the net. Ubuntu people advise you to keep away from compiling softwares as they might break system dependancies. Though agreed that compiling is the better method, its best kept for people with experience and distros like Gentoo, Slackware and of course your LFS :).
     
  6. OP
    OP
    startmenu

    startmenu New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bhubaneswar
    THANKS A LOT 4 QUICK REPLY.

    THINK ME DUMB BUT WHEN I TYPE sudo ls AND ENTER

    NOTHING HAPPENS $ PROMPT COMES BACK.

    sudo passwd root DOES NOT ASK 4 PASSWORD,IT GIVES $ PROMPT.

    I'M STRUCK HERE :-(

    I HAVE NOT YET CONFIGURED NET CONNECTION IN KUBUNTU.

    I USE BROADBAND CABLE MODEM.

    BROWSING IN LINUX WILL HAPPEN LATER, BUT 4 NOW Satissh S AND tech_your_future,

    GUD DUDES PLZ TELL ME CAN I LOG IN AS ROOT IN THE FIRST PLACE ??
     
  7. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    There's a thread out here on how to login as root but I would advise you not to do so. As a Ubuntu user I myself use sudo command to work as root. This is more secure. I remember experienced linux users always saying that properly configured sudo completely eliminates the need to login as a root. And sudo in Kubuntu is configured to allow you to do everything using sudo command. So, you don't need to login as root. That is why root account is disabled.
    Didn't sudo ever ask you for password so far?
    'sudo ls' might have not given you any results as the present working directory ie the diretory your console is in right now is empty or has only hidden files.
    DO try out other commands and tell us the results.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    startmenu

    startmenu New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bhubaneswar
    Now I understand. sudo does not do anything on shell konsole,but when I open root shell konsole going to session it changes the password, calls for new UNIX password and
    does the required stuff.
    Thanks for that part.
    Now how do I change the boot sequence ,opened the xorg.conf file in vi editor but which
    default value to change from 0 to 4 ???
    Nebody awake ??
     
  9. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Ahh u using vi. I guess you will be in a bit of a tangle using vi. I am myself yet to get used to it. Rather use nano, if there or use kate or kwrite, it will provide you with a GUI rather than command line. Don't get me wrong vi is very powerful but I think you should get used to it first and then try editing important files.
    Now, to carry out your task just change vi with any editor I mentioned above in your command. BTW, post your /boot/grub/menu;lst here then we can tell you exactly what changes to make.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    startmenu

    startmenu New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bhubaneswar
    tech_your_future , PLZ STAY ON LINE AS I RESTART MY PC,OPEN AND CD WRITE THE LIST WITH K3B,RESTART TO WINDOWS AND POST .
     
  11. OP
    OP
    startmenu

    startmenu New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bhubaneswar
    I THINK IT IS THE FILE WHICH WE CAN MODIFY FOR BOOT ORDER. TAKE A LOOK.

    # menu.lst - See: grub(8), info grub, update-grub(8)
    # grub-install(8), grub-floppy(8),
    # grub-md5-crypt, /usr/share/doc/grub
    # and /usr/share/doc/grub-doc/.

    ## default num
    # Set the default entry to the entry number NUM. Numbering starts from 0, and
    # the entry number 0 is the default if the command is not used.
    #
    # You can specify 'saved' instead of a number. In this case, the default entry
    # is the entry saved with the command 'savedefault'.
    default 0

    ## timeout sec
    # Set a timeout, in SEC seconds, before automatically booting the default entry
    # (normally the first entry defined).
    timeout 10

    ## hiddenmenu
    # Hides the menu by default (press ESC to see the menu)
    #hiddenmenu

    # Pretty colours
    #color cyan/blue white/blue

    ## password ['--md5'] passwd
    # If used in the first section of a menu file, disable all interactive editing
    # control (menu entry editor and command-line) and entries protected by the
    # command 'lock'
    # e.g. password topsecret
    # password --md5 $1$gLhU0/$aW78kHK1QfV3P2b2znUoe/
    # password topsecret

    #
    # examples
    #
    # title Windows 95/98/NT/2000
    # root (hd0,0)
    # makeactive
    # chainloader +1
    #
    # title Linux
    # root (hd0,1)
    # kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/hda2 ro
    #

    #
    # Put static boot stanzas before and/or after AUTOMAGIC KERNEL LIST

    ### BEGIN AUTOMAGIC KERNELS LIST
    ## lines between the AUTOMAGIC KERNELS LIST markers will be modified
    ## by the debian update-grub script except for the default options below

    ## DO NOT UNCOMMENT THEM, Just edit them to your needs

    ## ## Start Default Options ##
    ## default kernel options
    ## default kernel options for automagic boot options
    ## If you want special options for specifiv kernels use kopt_x_y_z
    ## where x.y.z is kernel version. Minor versions can be omitted.
    ## e.g. kopt=root=/dev/hda1 ro
    # kopt=root=/dev/hda3 ro

    ## default grub root device
    ## e.g. groot=(hd0,0)
    # groot=(hd0,2)

    ## should update-grub create alternative automagic boot options
    ## e.g. alternative=true
    ## alternative=false
    # alternative=true

    ## should update-grub lock alternative automagic boot options
    ## e.g. lockalternative=true
    ## lockalternative=false
    # lockalternative=false

    ## altoption boot targets option
    ## multiple altoptions lines are allowed
    ## e.g. altoptions=(extra menu suffix) extra boot options
    ## altoptions=(recovery mode) single
    # altoptions=(recovery mode) single

    ## nonaltoption boot targets option
    ## This option controls options to pass to only the
    ## primary kernel menu item.
    ## You can have ONLY one nonaltoptions line
    # nonaltoptions=quiet splash

    ## controls how many kernels should be put into the menu.lst
    ## only counts the first occurence of a kernel, not the
    ## alternative kernel options
    ## e.g. howmany=all
    ## howmany=7
    # howmany=all

    ## should update-grub create memtest86 boot option
    ## e.g. memtest86=true
    ## memtest86=false
    # memtest86=true

    ## ## End Default Options ##

    title Ubuntu, kernel 2.6.12-9-386
    root (hd0,2)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.12-9-386 root=/dev/hda3 ro quiet splash
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.12-9-386
    savedefault
    boot

    title Ubuntu, kernel 2.6.12-9-386 (recovery mode)
    root (hd0,2)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.12-9-386 root=/dev/hda3 ro single
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.12-9-386
    boot

    title Ubuntu, memtest86+
    root (hd0,2)
    kernel /boot/memtest86+.bin
    boot

    ### END DEBIAN AUTOMAGIC KERNELS LIST

    # This is a divider, added to separate the menu items below from the Debian
    # ones.
    title Other operating systems:
    root


    # This entry automatically added by the Debian installer for a non-linux OS
    # on /dev/hda1
    title Microsoft Windows XP Professional
    root (hd0,0)
    savedefault
    makeactive
    chainloader +1
     
  12. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    See the 4 I've marked in red. Just change that from 0 to 4. BTW, what editor are you using? vi? nano? kate? kwrite?
    Don't worry I'll be online for a while. Why don't you configure your internet from linux?
    Also, you can write to fat32 partition from linux.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    startmenu

    startmenu New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bhubaneswar
    I WILL NOW ONWARDS USE KATE. THANKS 4 D INFO. WILL CHANGE THE BOOT THING AFTERWORDS. COMING TO BROWSING , I USE A BROADBAND CABLE MODEM, VIA USB
    DATA CABLE & PORT. THE MODEM IS OF "TERAYON". DO I NEED TO INSTALL D LINUX DRIVERS 4M NET,THEY R NOT INCLUDED. ALL SETTINGS CAME AUTOMATICALLY.DON'T
    EVEN KNOW THE IP ADDRESS.
    TELL ME HOW TO CONFIGURE.
     
  14. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Just check in system ->administration -> networking and tell me which connections options you get. I don't use my modem from USB, I use it from LAN card. If you can do that it will be great. I will do a bit googling about the problems and seek out the solution. In the meanwhile do edit the menu,lst file and do other setups you need with linux.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    startmenu

    startmenu New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bhubaneswar
    YES BOOTING ORDER CHANGED. I HAD MADE UP MY MIND NOT TO USE LINUX AS NOTHING
    WAS WORKING PROPERLY. THANKS tech_your_future , U CHANGED MY NOTION.
    DO TELL ME HOW TO CONNECT TO NET VIA KUBUNTU , ANYONE.
     
  16. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    That's gr8 to know you changed your mind. Linux is a beautiful and powerful operating system but you should be ready to invest time for it. It will give you a lot in return.
    Now, coming to your networking problem. Firstly, tell me what do you see in system ->administration -> networking menu under the connection tabs. You will have to use dhcp for ur network settings.
    And please do not post everything in block letters. It is an online equivalent to screaming and doesn't look good.
     
  17. OP
    OP
    startmenu

    startmenu New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bhubaneswar
    Under Network Connections I see LAN or HIGH Speed Internet header and below that the icon
    says Local Area Connection.
    I am so poor in tech talk that not being able 2 provide full details. :(
     
  18. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    I meant you to check that in Ubuntu and not windows.
    Boot into Ubuntu. Now, open System ->Administration -> Networking(it will ask for your password at this point) and tell me what connections do you see in that. And then select ethernet connection then click on properties. Check the 'enable this device' box. and in configuration use 'DHCP'.
    If you can't remember this copy it to a text file in your windows partition. Your windows partition will be mounted under /media/hda1 or something similar. Then you can open the file there and read it.
     
  19. OP
    OP
    startmenu

    startmenu New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bhubaneswar
    Even a gold fish is smarter than me. I found no Administration under System tab. The only thing I could figure out under Kinfo Center is my modem is detected & connected 2 USB port 1, under USB tab . See if this helps , otherwise I should log out 4 today. Will come back with
    more problems tomorrow. Waiting.
     
  20. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Oops sorry my fault I was telling you based on Ubuntu.
    Do search around for networking options in Kubuntu or wait for someone who's using Kubuntu to guide you about where the menu is.
    It is a good thing that your modem is detected. We will get on with it further tomorrow as there will be more people to help then.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page