Knoppix 3.2 installation.

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by aditya.shevade, Aug 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aditya.shevade

    aditya.shevade Console Junkie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Hi

    I want to install knoppix 3.2 on HDD. The CD contains the procedure, but I am unable to understand it. They have said....

    Q: Can one also install the distribution from the CD onto a hard drive?

    A: In principal, yes (after all, the "master" system also runs on a hard
    drive before it is burned to CD). However there is currently no
    installation GUI for this, so installation to a hard drive should probably
    only be attempted by more knowledgeable Linux users. Assuming the KNOPPIX
    system has already booted, installation approximately follows this
    procedure:
    1.) initialize a free partition with the ext2 file system and mount it on
    /mnt/knoppix, for example.
    2.) cp -a /KNOPPIX/* /mnt/knoppix/
    3.) set up /mnt/knoppix/etc/fstab and /mnt/knoppix/etc/lilo.conf for the
    new system (Caution: symlinks in /boot initially point to the Ram
    disk!), run lilo.
    4.) mkdir /mnt/knoppix/home/knoppix && \
    chown knoppix.knoppix /mnt/knoppix/home/knoppix
    5.) Reboot, try the system out, fix any broken settings.
    (No guarantees.)

    Can some one please tell what exactly to do in detail?
     
  2. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
  3. Desmond David

    Desmond David Destroy Erase Improve

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,779
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Pune
    Thanks mate, I really needed it too.
     
  4. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    aditya!! I think I sent you a Knoppix 5.0.1 DVD!! Why do you want to install an older version now?
     
  5. mediator

    mediator New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In ur Evil Mind!
    Thats cheating post the knoppix 5 DVD to all of us. Make it the digit content!
     
  6. OP
    OP
    aditya.shevade

    aditya.shevade Console Junkie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    @ Tuxfan. I have the DVD. I know that. My old PC dosen't have a DVD drive, even if it had one then also it has only 96MB ram and it's a Celeron 500MHz and the PC is 6 years old. I cannot run any other distro as smooth as I can run the Knoppix 3.2 on that.

    @tech_your_future: - Thank you. I have installed the OS. Now only one thing remains unanswered, It comes with LILO, JGuru told me about the GRUB but not LILO. It boots Knoppix By default. I want windows to run Like that. How can I make Windows my Default OS?

    I also tried Mandriva but it is too slow at my config. Knoppix runs very well. I have no problem now exept for that LILO config. Please tell me what to do.
     
  7. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
  8. JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    @Aditya, backup the 'lilo.conf' file before you make any changes!!
    So if you mess things up you can restore it from the backup file!!
    Otherwise you won't be able to boot.
    Open the Terminal Window & type:
    $ sudo cp /etc/lilo.conf /etc/lilo_back.conf

    Now edit the LILO file:

    $ sudo gedit /etc/lilo.conf

    Make the changes & save the file.
    Reboot for changes to take effect.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    aditya.shevade

    aditya.shevade Console Junkie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    @Tech_your_future:-

    I respect your advice but there are a lot of sites to be searched from and I thought that this was the best method. Forgive me if I am wrong. I am searching on google but am not finding the correct results, forget this one as ir's the first page in google.

    @JGuru Thank you.
     
  10. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    See aditya we all don't get it right with google just from the beginning. For linux related queries go to www.google.com/linux, it will give you more specific queries. Learn more about google, it has so many powerful tools. Main thing to remember is which keywords to apply like in this case you could have searched for Knoppix + edit lilo. As you use more you will learn.
     
  11. JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    @Aditya, Tech_your_future has a good point. You must search with the correct phrase
    in Google to get what you want.In the first three links itself , you'll find what you are
    looking for!! Ofcourse it comes with some experience , trial & error method.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page