Is this laptop good enough?

Discussion in 'Laptops and Netbooks' started by Abhijit_T, Apr 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Abhijit_T

    Abhijit_T New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi
    I'm thinking of ordering the following laptop-

    Dell Inspiron 6400
    Intel Core Duo Processor T2300 1.66 GHz, 2MB Cache, 667 MHz FSB
    Microsoft Windows XP Home
    15.4" Widescreen with Truelife 1280*800
    1024(2*512) DDR2 SDRAM
    80GB SATA HDD
    8X DVD+/-RW Combo Drive Dual Layer
    256MB ATi Mobility Radeon X1400 Hypermemory
    Wireless 350 Bluetooth Module
    INR 62,939/-

    I need the laptop for everyday heavy use with light-to-moderate gaming(OK with games running at medium settings) and also for running applications like 3ds Max and Maya
    Is this laptop good enough, or can I get a better deal?
    Can anyone pls suggest some other configurations in the same price range?
    Thank You
     
  2. Nemesis

    Nemesis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    You might want to consider getting a faster processor or adding more RAM since you will be using 3DS and Maya. Other than that, this looks like a good config. Maybe you could get a 7200rpm HDD if you don't already have it selected.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Abhijit_T

    Abhijit_T New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the reply
    Abt the ram, i think i'll get a single 1GB stick, and then use the 512 MB stick frm my old laptop
    Also, can anyone pls tell me how the Core Duo 1.66GHz performs with respect to the P4 M processors
    My old laptop had a P4 2.8 Ghz, will this processor perform better?

    Also, wht is the exact process of ordering frm Dell?
    I've given a request for a quotation, havent got it yet.
    Can I order online frm the India site, or do I have to call?
     
  4. Nemesis

    Nemesis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Make sure that your new laptop will support the RAM from your old one - if the old one has a lower frequency, then system performance will be slightly compromised. The Core Duo is much more efficient when it comes to battery life and it also runs fast. I don't know exactly how it will compare to the P4 2.8GHz but I guess it should be just as good if not better. Maybe a higher clock rate will perform better.

    I think you can configure your system online - not sure if you can buy it online though. It would be a good idea to configure your system online so that you get a rough idea of the final cost and then call them up.
     
  5. Manxish

    Manxish New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata Writers Building
    The laptop is not 64 bit one.
     
  6. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    get a faster processor to do maya.else its fine

    man in laptop u must spend at least 70k to get working with maya & in pc u do it for 50k with huge speed.why not save gard earned money.
     
  7. magnet

    magnet New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    dude i suggest get lappy frm us...in 70k u ll get a system.....worth 1.2,lakh of indian price.......

    i have no idea abt lappy markets...but 1.6ghz and that too for maya stuff looks low....get a better processer...also your budget can get u 100gb disc too.....other stuffs look...good.......also if u can get freedos or linus os one get that and if u have the original microsoft os cd...then u can install that and save ard 3-5k
     
  8. montsa007

    montsa007 ~Bulletproof Monk~

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,180
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    ya man the stuff in india is imported from there only so better to bring wid sum1
     
  9. Sourabh

    Sourabh Laptoping

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,206
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    A 2 month old post has been bumped. Locking this thread. If you need to reopen this thread, please take the pains to PM a mod.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page