Is there any way to play PS2 games on PC?

Discussion in 'Gamerz' started by gaurav_indian, May 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gaurav_indian

    gaurav_indian CG Artist

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi,India
    Guys I want to know is there any way that we can play high quality PS2 games on PC.If so then what's the requirements for that.And sorry if this topic is already discussed.
     
  2. borg

    borg New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delta Quadrant
    Definitely you can, First of all u need a DVD player (obviously), then u need a state of the art PC, say P4 2.8 GHz or equivalent with good gfx card & atleast 512 MB RAM. Then download a PS2 emulator from the internet. Google for it. Get a PS2 game & you are ready to go.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    gaurav_indian

    gaurav_indian CG Artist

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi,India
    But how will it run I mean the performance of PS2 games on PC will be the same?
     
  4. Vyasram

    Vyasram The pWnster

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Karaikudi,TN
    ATM, there is no ps2 emulator except 4 pcsx 0.8 but it still cant run any game as told on its "readme". so u cant play any game yet
     
  5. ionicsachin

    ionicsachin New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    pcsx plays all the PS2 games but you need the BIOS file which is a highly illegal file.
     
  6. hbk549

    hbk549 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Gaming world
    Man u will require heavy pc configuration for that..
     
  7. keith

    keith New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Yes,albeit you need to have softwares e.g, bleem
     
  8. Ecko

    Ecko Wandering In Tecno Land

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
  9. fortebuster

    fortebuster New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    IIRC, bleem is a PS1 emulator.

    There is no working PC emulator for any of the 4 consoles.
     
  10. ymhatre

    ymhatre New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai, Vile Parle - East
    Wht would be possible configuratiion required to run them

    i hav got
    p4 2.66 @ 2.8
    Asus P5rd1 vm board having onboard ATi x200 series 128 mb shared..
    768 mb ram(640mb)
    will my rig will be able to handle ps2 games
     
  11. OP
    OP
    gaurav_indian

    gaurav_indian CG Artist

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi,India
    Your configuration requires 1024 MB RAM and still I have heard that the performance of the PS2 games on PC will be 10% of what we can get in PS2.
     
  12. tarey_g

    tarey_g Hanging, since 2004..

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,360
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hanging..
    finally some one wrote the correct thing .

    Most ps2 games run , but they run at unplayable fps. so no point in ps2 emulation rt now .
    this site has list of games that run on the emulator , and the forums have screenshots of the games running submitted by the users. for now the site is under reconstruction so visit there sometime later .

    http://www.pcsx2.net/
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2006
  13. speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    yea dude this site is under reconstructions...i guess im more eagerly waiting for its release...i ran smackdown vs raw 2006 in psx v0.8.1 it ran slowly that too till menu...the match wont start...they claim v0.9 release so its better wit fps but still not complete...so lets hope they come up wit somthing gud soon...till then keep waiting coz its still not playable...

    cheers
     
  14. PrinceHeart

    PrinceHeart New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fantasy Island on a Parallel Universe
    well.. I got

    P IV 3.0Ghz
    1GB SD DDR RAM
    Gforce 6800 256 Ultra
    LG DVD-ROM
    Iomega DVD Writter
    160 X 2 Seagate HDD

    what else i need ? :p
    Got heaps of ps2 dvds and a ps2 console ofcourse :p

    And yup .. i google..couldn't find anything.. i think no ps2 emulator yet invented.. any suggestions ?

    cheers
     
  15. KoRn

    KoRn New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi's Belly
    U need the emulator and all of its components especially the rite BIOS.Try www.ngemu.com #! site 4 me.i think the game will be sluggish with ur configs,try a 7800gtx and atleast 2gb of ram for med settings.
     
  16. Vyasram

    Vyasram The pWnster

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Karaikudi,TN
    as i said there is no ps2 emulator that plays games. Maybe pcsx1.0 will be workable. it'll b available in 2007/08
     
  17. hbk549

    hbk549 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Gaming world
    pcsx 0.9 will solve the problem but perfect ps2 emu will come when playstation 7 will be will launched man buy a playstation2 for some $$ and play games dont depend on Ps2 emu.....
     
  18. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Will it work on the IGP with a AMD 2800+ and 512 MB of ram?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page