Is there Any Way I can....???

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by zeeshan_04, Sep 29, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zeeshan_04

    zeeshan_04 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kutch, Gujarat
    Hi Guys,

    Is there any way I can put my name "Zeeshan" instead of "start" in the start menu.

    Please tell soon.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. ishaan

    ishaan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
  3. Kl@w-24

    Kl@w-24 Slideshow Bob

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
  4. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    well u can use objectbar ... u can create a bar to replace ur taskbar and keep a custom start button
    apart from this there was this oldd software called painkiller ...
    search for it .. its a replacement for start menu .. adn pretty good
    u can even change the icon ...
    or u can use a visual theme in xp ... with the button u want .. but im sure u dun want to change ur whole appearance
    then there was this software stylebulder from tgtsoft
    same ppl who gave us style xp
    u can edit the buttons etc .. basically the visual style ... but i dunno if u can change the name of the start menu from there .. im pretty sure u can ... so try that out first
     
  5. OP
    OP
    zeeshan_04

    zeeshan_04 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kutch, Gujarat
    Thanks Everyone
     
  6. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    o the guys already gave a reply .. was to late ..
    yeah resource hacker will do the job just fine .. infact better
     
  7. OP
    OP
    zeeshan_04

    zeeshan_04 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kutch, Gujarat
    Hi Guys,

    I tried changing the name using Resource Hacker. But it didn't help.

    Instead of "Start", I wrote "Hello" there and then saved the file and then restarted the pc to see the effects. But no change.

    I restarted 2-3 times but still no change.

    Please help.
     
  8. hansraj

    hansraj Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pune
    hey zeeshan... ok now that u have changed the start to zeeshan ... make sure that the new changed explorer file is in another drive other than the system root drive and make change in the registry also
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/SOFTWARE/MICROSOFT/WINDOWS NT/CURRENT VERSION/WINLOGON and change the shell key to [Drive]:\explorer.exe where [drive] is the local drive where u have placed the changed explorer.exe...... thats it...
     
  9. sniper

    sniper New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also try tweaking softwares which would also do other things for u as well
    XTeq (free), Winboost
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page