is swap a different partition ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

saurabh kakkar

D i s t i n c t l y Ahead
hi
as i am new in the amazing word of Linux . i wanna know is swap a different

partition or a sub portion ( virtual ) of main Linux partition ?

infra_red_dude

Wire muncher!
swap can be a different partition (which is the commonly followed conventionn) or it can be a file (jus like windows). basically it jus needs some allotted space on harddisk to perform the swap operation.

OP
saurabh kakkar

saurabh kakkar

praka123 said:
better have a seperate partition of approx 500 mb.

thanks for Ur suggestion i m having swap as a different partition in my

ubuntu 7.04 but wana know suppose i format my linux partition and swap

partition from windows will they appear different drives or one ?

Pathik

Google Bot
you wont be able to access or edit ur ext3 or swap partitions without any 3rd party softs..w

infra_red_dude

Wire muncher!
if u haf a separate swap partition then it'll appear as a separate drive (drive is not a correct word here! partition is the correct word. but ussed here jus for understanding sake.)

pathiks said:
you wont be able to access or edit ur ext3 or swap partitions without any 3rd party softs..w
he can't access but he can definitely format the partitions using disk management of win nt/2k/xp/vista.

Last edited:

QwertyManiac

Commander in Chief
Swap won't appear in Windows even after you install the EXT2/3 Drivers. They do appear in those application-based readers but they hardly contain any file in them.

infra_red_dude

Wire muncher!
QwertyManiac said:
Swap won't appear in Windows even after you install the EXT2/3 Drivers. They do appear in those application-based readers but they hardly contain any file in them.