is my SMPS sufficient for this config

Discussion in 'PC Components / Configurations' started by amitava82, Feb 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. amitava82

    amitava82 MMO Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,469
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    well my pc config is:

    P4 2.8 GHz HT
    Intel 865 GBF
    512 MB RAM
    GeForce 5700 LE 128 MB Overclocked
    Sound Blaster Live
    PCI modem
    1 No. DVD RW
    1No. DVD R
    4 No. 12V neon LED (those u can see on bike, car)

    I have 300 watt SMPS. is it sufficient or shall i upgrade? currently i dont have any problem with it..
     
  2. hotdogXP

    hotdogXP New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    coimbatore
    better go for 400W SMPS for this rig, get a good brand SMPS like Powersafe, Zebronics Platinum series...

    If yur going to upgrade the gfx card/Ram/add additional drives in the future then get a 450W or higher so yu dont have to spend again later...
     
  3. royal

    royal New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
  4. OP
    OP
    amitava82

    amitava82 MMO Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,469
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    wow that was GREAT. my calculation is 296 watts. i guess time to upgrade.. thanks man. great link
     
  5. harsh bajpai

    harsh bajpai Guest

    Go for the 500W+ Powersupply only if you plan to sli or Crossfire two Graphic cards, other than that 400W is sufficient, 450 to be on the safer side and only if the price diff. is not too wide. I suggest Antec smartpower 400W.
     
  6. jasukalbaguncle

    jasukalbaguncle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Sachin kalbag uncle live
    ur friend

    go for i ball 400w supply.if 300 didn't effect ur performance then dont change it :lol:
     
  7. darklord

    darklord New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune,India
    Powersafe 500W doesnt suffice for SLI setup of decent graphics cards. :wink:
     
  8. harsh bajpai

    harsh bajpai Guest

    All i meant to say was 400 -450W is enough for Non SLI setup The 500W+indicated 'more than 500W' .
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page