Is linux worth learning?

Status
Not open for further replies.

devilzdad

Broken In
Hi frnds,
I'm a newbie to the world of linux(Ubuntu).So it's sucking most of my time and energy.I experienced difficulties starting frm the installing ubuntu OS to installing softwares in ubuntu.Of course i'm ready to spend as much time it requires.But now a days one simple question is pulling me back to microsoft windows.The question is:

"Is it worth to spend so much time to learn linux although i can do most of these things very easily in windows??"

Frnds,will u plz answer dis question?? :confused:

mediator

Technomancer
Re: will u plz answer dis question??

Its all about getting used to an OS. U can install programs through "add/remove programs" , "synaptic manager" etc.

For your question, I wud like to answer by another question. "Were u able to do all the tasks like installing, repairing, maintaining etc all by urself when u were a noobie to MS-Windows world? How many times did u call ur system engineer to ur home to fix ur OS/softwares/hardwares when u were a noobie and wasted 1000s of bucks?" Answer urself without any partiality and u'll urself realise that Learning is never a waste.

If u have any problems in linux, then there is an entire community eager to help u out. U have online step by step manuals available so that a kid can also understand and act accordingly. It far better than calling system engineers, isn't it?

If u wanna explore a lil further then read this => "Linux : Making life easy"
If u wanna witness shock n awe of desktop environments then look here => *ubuntuforums.org/gallery/

There is lot to learn in linux. Though u can do almost all the tasks in *nix without Commandlines, but learning CLI gives u an upper edge and makes ur computing far far better. U can never experience that in windows. U'll realise it only if u learn it. :)

mehulved

18 Till I Die............
Re: will u plz answer dis question??

devilzdad said: