Is 3000+ hotter than 4200+ ?

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by dOm1naTOr, Aug 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    One of my friend bought an AMD 3000+ venice along with ASUS A8N VM board and Simtronics mem 2x256 @ 2-3-2-6(wow!).
    First without OCing his normal temp was 34~36 when idle and max upto 40~41 when at load. I persuaded him to overclock nd he achieved 2.3 from 1.8 nd he was shocked with the temp like 54~56!!!. So I set it back at 1.8 but the problem is that now his idle/load temp has raised much to 38~40/48~52!!!!.
    Now even wothout ocing the temp is high nd he is blaming me for this. What should I do??

    Now my new X2 4200+ has idle temp of 36~37 nd 46~47 at full load. Even after ocing from 2.2 to 2.6 its safe at 51max at full load(both core at full load by CPU tester pro). My temp will be normal if I set the stock speed.
    PLZ help me to solve his problem.

    ALSO WHAT IS THE USUAL TEMP OF AMD 64 AT IDLE ND LOAD BEFORE AND AFTER NORMAL OCING???AND WHAT IS THE HIGHEST SAFE TEMP???

    [both of us has adequate case cooling with 5x80 mm fans.
     
  2. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Is 3000+ hoter than 4200+ ?

    restore back all settings including voltages
     
  3. OP
    OP
    dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    Re: Is 3000+ hoter than 4200+ ?

    Tried everything by reseting the bios nd tried seting default values.
     
  4. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Is 3000+ hoter than 4200+ ?

    is the computer setup the same.....or has he changes he desk or the position of his table/desk?.
     
  5. coolsunny

    coolsunny Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Re: Is 3000+ hoter than 4200+ ?

    @ aravind_n20
    my cpu temp varies 46-50.5 c in this cold weather.vcore 1.47V
    i want to oc my mobo.can u tell me what precautions i must take.i also want to 512 mem stick 4 this.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    Re: Is 3000+ hoter than 4200+ ?

    The CPU voltage rating is far higher than its normal. AMD 3000+ should be 1.35~1.4v max.
    http://www.amdcompare.com/us-en/desktop/details.aspx?opn=ADA3000DAA4BP
    Yours 1.47 is higher. Usually the CPU v is increased manually when CPU is ocing, nd to supply adequate power to CPU. Yours voltage is adequate for ocing. Follow these steps:
    First u should install atleast 3x80mm chassis fan extra(additional to PSU nd CPU).
    Enter the bios nd set the CPU multiplier to 9(max for A8N VM) and slowly increase your CPU bus speed from 200 to max of 270. But I would recoment to set to some 250 or 260. But do it by small steps, say 5Mhz per step. Restart every time and boot into windows nd chech whether its stable nd also note the CPU temp at max load nd it shouldn't exceed 55. U can set even higher than 270 if u have good CPU heatsink/fan combo.
    Check the v nd clocks using cpuz:
    http://www.cpuid.com/download/cpu-z-136.zip

    [​IMG]
    __________
    Is there any way of lowering the CPU voltage on A8N VM????
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2006
  7. john_the_ultimate

    john_the_ultimate No pain....No gain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Re: Is 3000+ hoter than 4200+ ?

    I have an AMD64 3000+ venice on A8N-E overclocked to 2.7GHz on stock cooling with idle temp of around 38C and load of 52C.
    And few days ago I backed it down to its default and the temp. came down by around 5-7C for both idle and load. Now its again back to 2.7GHz.
     
  8. coolsunny

    coolsunny Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Re: Is 3000+ hoter than 4200+ ?

    thanks aravind_n20
    i increased fsb by 5. the vcore also increases (1.456-1.480V) to (1.448-1.488V)
    as frm cpuz.the vcore & core speed always varies. is it normal?
    i have 256 mb(200 mhz) dynet ram(3-4-4-8 latencies),can it handle ocing?
    i decreased its speed to 166 mhz for safety.
    do i need to change the bios further? tell me do i need to reduce the vcore,then how?
     
  9. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Re: Is 3000+ hoter than 4200+ ?

    Well .. 55c is quite ok .. temps depend a lot on the ambience too .. maybe the fans got some dust on it ..

    Also .. , if the temps were around 55c with the OC , then its absolutely ok ...

    Also , make sure he disabled "Automatic Temp. Control" ...

    And about the vcore , mine varies from 1.45-1.51 ... a little higher can keep things more stable ... upto 1.55 is quite ok ..
     
  10. OP
    OP
    dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    Re: Is 3000+ hoter than 4200+ ?

    yaa higher vcore can make it stable but cam bring up the temp.
    @coolsunny
    dynet rams are totally crappy. Ive 2x512 transcent and 2x256 dynet.
    I would say simtronics is a very goo mem as two of my friends are running it at 2.5-3-2-6 @400MHZ in dual channel.
    But my dynet can't even do 2.5-3-3-7 @400. If I unplug the dynet and use only transcent I can reach 2.7~2.8 easily but if i plug in dynet for more mem, the cpu can only do 2.4!!!!why I dun know, but even if I leave mem settings to default I can't make it higher than 2.4.
    But u can try even more higher freqs. and as deathvirus_me said upto 1.5v can be considered safe and reach max clock at bout 1.5v nd see if its stable.
     
  11. magnet

    magnet New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Is 3000+ hoter than 4200+ ?

    aarvind.......first i guess if u really worried abt temperature........get as5(artic silver 5) apply on your processer.........and job is done.....

    and also addsome fansin your cabinet......

    bt i dont thing that temperature are to worried abt...i have used 3000+ at 61'C....without oc............the only thing to worry is when temp crosses 80-85-9o mark....but nowadays bios has th option to shutdown pc as soon as it is reached...so need not worry..........jus get as5 and a decent cabinet...also if possible get everest home edition and check the temp again......
     
  12. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Re: Is 3000+ hoter than 4200+ ?

    Thats what .. 55c with that much ov is quite an ok temp. .. My CPU idles' at 38-42c , and at load goes upto 48-50c ... so ur temps are quite ok .. specially at a higher voltage ...
     
  13. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Is 3000+ hoter than 4200+ ?

    was that 1.47V for northwood core?
     
  14. GeekyBoy

    GeekyBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Re: Is 3000+ hoter than 4200+ ?

    I too have got a 3000+ with A8N VM and 256x2 400MHz ZION RAM and stock cooling,with no fans installed other than the CPU fan.How can I overclock it?Do I have to use the BIOS or any other software utility?
     
  15. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Is 3000+ hoter than 4200+ ?

    read the oc guide. anyway, i don't think that mobo is made for oc and nor is any other onboard video mobo made for oc, you probably won't go high unless you change it.
     
  16. coolsunny

    coolsunny Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Re: Is 3000+ hoter than 4200+ ?

    do i need to change the bios further? there is no options for locking pci/pci-e bus
     
  17. GeekyBoy

    GeekyBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Re: Is 3000+ hoter than 4200+ ?

    I just bought the rig a month ago!
     
  18. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Is 3000+ hoter than 4200+ ?

    you bought the wrong rig. I keep telling people not to buy that motherboard yet they buy. sorry, but not my fault.

    make sure that the pcie etc is locked, check google whether it supports the locks or not, a8n e does.
     
  19. OP
    OP
    dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    Re: Is 3000+ hoter than 4200+ ?

    @GeekyBoy
    with that board u can oc a max upto 400~450mhz. But first what u want to do is to install as much as 80mm fans in ur cab. Better use one or two intake and some 2-3 outlets.
    Enter the bios nd disable cool n quite nd under "jumperfree configuration" keeping the CPU multiplier at 9x(max for VM) slowly raise the cpu bus and follow the steps mentioned above.


    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Now Im at 2.75 Ghz nd at idle the temp is 41~42 nd at full load it has reached 58~59 nd on running cpu tester pro for 10-15 min it almost reached 61.
    Im using very elaborate air cooling but the temp seems beyond control.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  20. coolsunny

    coolsunny Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Re: Is 3000+ hoter than 4200+ ?

    @ aravind_n20
    how u r taking snaps of cpuz & uploading it.tell me.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page