1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

intex ethernet card question

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by rk, Apr 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rk

    rk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Friends,
    I have a compaq pc with windowsxp sp2,recently i needed to add an external networkcard, the vendor had given an Intex ethernet card for Rs 200/- and said it works properly in all systems,
    it came with drivers on floppy
    but on starting windows detects a ethernetcard but refuses to accept the drivers on floppy, also tried searching on google for drivers but windows refused all those drivers also[including Myson MTD80X LANNIC and Retech8139D drivers].
    the bios detects it as pcibus=3,device=1,function=0
    so it it problem of intex or compaq
    should i return this card?
    thx for ur suggestion.
     
  2. cyrux

    cyrux New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hyd
    Do u really need drivers.. Isnt Windows XP recognising the card...
     
  3. OP
    OP
    rk

    rk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no cyrux,it says
    1=on boot=>ethernet adapter found
    2=welcome to the hardware update wizard
    3=wizard gives 2 options=

    a=install the software automatically
    on selecting this=says=cannot install this hardware,click back if u have installation media
    b=install from a list or specific location
    on selecting[network adapters] ,searches for sometime then says =unable to find any drivers for this device,gives option ="havedisk"
    on giving location of driver ,says="specific location does not contain information abt your hardware".
     
  4. cyrux

    cyrux New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hyd
    fine , i guess XP doesnt have the right drivers for your card, but thats no problem . When you have an active internet connection why dont u serach for your card's drivers on the internet. I am sure your going to find it on intex's website. No need of banging your head on that floppy.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    rk

    rk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    tried intex's website, but they offer no drivers on website,on google search found that many people says this card doesn't work on xp easily
    also tried many drivers from Retech[people said intex uses Retech chipset]but no use
     
  6. cyrux

    cyrux New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hyd
    If thats the case, exchange the card if you can get it. Get dlink or someother brand
     
  7. ASH_DSG

    ASH_DSG Guest

    Exchange ur card immediately these cards are faulty my friends also buy these as they are cheap but it don't work it will detected but cannot be installed and if installed then again it will give problems to ur motherboards as hanging and restarting windows so go for Dlink or replace ur mobo to new one as new mobos are come with in build lan card. :eek:
     
  8. OP
    OP
    rk

    rk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how much Dlink costs?
    if Dlink is not available, what other brands are ok?
     
  9. cyrux

    cyrux New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hyd
    D-link should also cost the same. At max 50 bucks extra, go for it
     
  10. OP
    OP
    rk

    rk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok,thx for info
     
  11. ashnik

    ashnik New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Thane
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page