Internet on fedora core 3

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by nish_higher, Jun 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nish_higher

    nish_higher New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,815
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi.I have fedora core 3 distro on my pc.I wanna run internet on it using gprs on my ngage qd using blue soleil bluetooth.Plz teach me how to do that.does linux have a download accelerator?Where can i download that?
     
  2. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    ya linux have download accelerator named downloader for x

    try this command
    Code:
    yum -y install d4x
    

    for common topics like this first search this thread then start a new post:[Updated]:Frequently disucced topics
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2006
  3. OP
    OP
    nish_higher

    nish_higher New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,815
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not found any link regarding my problem.
     
  4. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
  5. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
  6. OP
    OP
    nish_higher

    nish_higher New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,815
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks.I have another query.Where can i download games for linux?
     
  7. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
  8. OP
    OP
    nish_higher

    nish_higher New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,815
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks.Can u tell me how and in wat way should i partition my hard drive to install ubuntu?I have a 250gb hd.Wanna use 10gb for installing linux and 20 gb partition for my data in linux.Other for windows.How should i partition?I know that linux requires something like boot space partition and other to install(not sure.New to linux).Can u explain that too.Wat should be size of that?
     
  9. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    You require one swap partition of 2 times your RAM to the maximum of 1 GB.
    A separate /boot partition of not more than 100mb. I have heard it's preferable to keep /boot partition of ext2 file system as the data there remains more or less constant. So, no need of journalling.
    You can keep a /home partition of about 10 GB you can format it as ext3 or reiserfs, I prefer latter but different people have different opinion.
    A / partition of about another 10 GB preferably formatted as ext3
    And if you don't have a FAT 32 partition, use remaining space for that as both linux and windows can write to FAT32 partition. If you have enough FAT32 partitions you can increase the size of your /home partition.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    nish_higher

    nish_higher New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,815
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    With which software can i do that?
     
  11. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Fedora itself has diskdruid. It is a GUI partition tool. It will take care of partitioning. Just select manual partitioning. You need no external tools.
     
  12. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    that can be done from inbulit installer of linux distro in text mode but if u prefer a graphical based solition u can go for partion magic 8.0(paid). more info on this www.powerquest.com/partitionmagic/ .i fell that u can do it from inbuilt installer
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page