Internet by Nokia 7610

Discussion in 'Internet & WWW' started by Choto Cheeta, Sep 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Choto Cheeta

    Choto Cheeta Rebooting

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,202
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    220.225.82.33
    I have a Nokia 7610 Phone with a GSM 32K Hutch connection…… I want use it to connect to Internet through my computer…… i have in stalled the nokia pssuite on my conputer..... computer detects it on usb port.... but now what???? how can I connect to the net???? is it going the provide as fast connection as CDMA???

    I use windows XP SP2.........

    Pls me out
     
  2. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    ask ur service provider to hel u out here
    they need to activate the service first
     
  3. curvenger

    curvenger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Aizawl
    active GSM or GPRS or whatever from the provider i.e hutch and get help from there
     
  4. jassalmithu

    jassalmithu New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    2 conditions req for a 200kbps connection
    1:If u r living in LUDHIANA or CHANDIGARH , as i do
    2.If ur phone supports EDGE

    then get a connection frm airtel and activate EDGE over it with just a monthly rental of rs. 600 this service is currently available in only LUDHIANA or CHANDIGARH and speed is blazingly fast 200kilo bytes per second not bits
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Choto Cheeta

    Choto Cheeta Rebooting

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,202
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    220.225.82.33
    I am from Kolkata....... 7610 does support EDGE....... but my service provider says i need use DKU-5 Data cable....... as i use a DKU-2 USB data cable...... they said that is why i am not getting the speed..... is it true????

    Computer does show 460.8Kbps of connection Speed...... but i get only 1.5 to 2.0 Kbps of download speed.........

    what will be the best nokia phone to use as a data phone.........
     
  6. doom_marine

    doom_marine New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    calicut,kerala
    could you tell how you connected it to the system and got the connection

    Well i don't think the the 7610 supports EDGE

    personally i have tried to connect my phone to the comp for net access for a long time and Airtel Coustomer Care has no idea how to do it from kerala
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Choto Cheeta

    Choto Cheeta Rebooting

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,202
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    220.225.82.33
    doom_marine try this

    Atcivate ur GPRS.......... Install the cable driver on ur computer......... DKU-2 or DKU-5 what ever cable u r using.......... go to control panel..... u will see nokia modem option...... now make a new dial-up cnection by using this nokia USB (in case of DKU-2) or COM Port (in case of DKU-5) modem.......

    in that connection user name is 91xxxxxxxxxx (xxxxxxxxxx is ur phone number) & in airtel the dial up number is *99***1#.........

    try this u will able to log on to the net....... & let me know whatever happnes.......
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page