INTEL 865GBF and GeFORCE 5500 Problem

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by PAPABEAR, Jul 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PAPABEAR

    PAPABEAR New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi!! The thing is that the video card is AGP 8X and when i run a diagnose it shows that the AGP slot is 4X. if anyone know if the motherboard can't run in 8X or if is some configuration problem.

    P4 2.8Ghz 533Mhz
    INTEL 865GBF
    1GB RAM DDR
    GeFORCE 5500 AGP 8X 256MB
    SATA HDD
     
  2. Sourabh

    Sourabh Laptoping

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,206
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Your motherboard supports AGP 8x. It's just that you have the 4x option selected in the bios. It wouldn't be difficult to find that option.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    PAPABEAR

    PAPABEAR New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    can't find the option. the only thing found was "AGP APERTURE SIZE" to select from 4MB to 256MB
     
  4. Stalker

    Stalker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    closer than u think..
    try to download utilities like

    nvhardpage
    Rivatuner
    powerstrip

    u can mostly find them at guru3d.com. with them u can manually change ur agp settings i.e PCI mode, 1x, 2x, 4x or 8x.

    using hardpage u can add a page(called AGP settings) in ur forceware driver control panel which will tweak ur AGP settings.

    with Rivatuner or powerstrip u will find these options in the main control panel of the respective program.
    i recommend rivatuner for this.
    NOTE: AGP version 3.0 = AGP 8X
    AGP version 2.0 = AGP 4X
    865 does support AGP 8x.
     
  5. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    What app. reported it to be AGP 4x ?? It could be reporting the 2d AGP rate ... ...
     
  6. OP
    OP
    PAPABEAR

    PAPABEAR New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the app is fresh diagnose, but i'm a desperate one and already bought another board "ASUS P4S800D-X", still don't know if is running in 8X, but thanks a lot for the input.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page