INTEL 865 GBF

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by techsammy, Mar 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. techsammy

    techsammy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    bangalore
    hello there friends seems i'm in troubled waters again.

    Following is my problem please help me....

    I own a system with the following configuration

    Intel 865 GBF motherboard

    Intel Pentium 4 3.0 Ghz

    512 DDR

    2 x 80 GB HDD

    NavTech Cabinet with Power supply for Pentium4

    OS: Windows XP


    The system was purchased on 6th of August 2005.

    As per the customer terms i'm still in the warranty period.


    When i had purchased the system, from the very first week i was facing
    thermal problems. I reported it to the dealer and he added on two
    chasis coolers. After which my system became stable for a while. Now i have started facing the frequent hang up's, many time the BIOS reports that system was shut down due to thermal problems. Also the intel active moitor reoprts high temperatures of the processor area. Now the situation is that my system boots and works for hardly 5 minutes and then it freezes i mean hangs up.

    The system has NOT been tweaked or over clocked externally or
    internally. The system is kept in an ambinet space with complete air
    flow. Also there are no magnetic interfernces nearby.
     
  2. gxsaurav

    gxsaurav Guest

    Update your motherboard BIOS first, the 865GBF is known to have trouble in reading temprature correctly, thats why BIOS update are required.

    After this, work on your computer, without the sidepanel, open it. check if it still gives hangups or not, if it doesn't then u get some thermal problem sure

    check weather the CPU is seated on the motherboard & weather the CPU Fan is assembled properly or not
     
  3. Tech&ME

    Tech&ME Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,438
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    First of all DO NOT OPEN YOUR COMPUTER CASE and try to repair of correct any thing inside it yourself. As you said your system is still under warranty, so better call the engineer and explain him what gxsaurav has said to do.

    Also, Ask the engineer to lower the input temperature to your motherboard from the BIOS and also ask him to disable fan speed control and other unneccessary settings from the BIOS.
     
  4. ymhatre

    ymhatre New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai, Vile Parle - East
    Hey wht Tech &ME said is right. U still have warranrty. so no problem i guess..
    Call the dealer say him tht it satrted hanging again due to same problem..
     
  5. gxsaurav

    gxsaurav Guest

    what does lowering the input temprature has to do with this problem.It's 865GBF , which doesn't support such features
     
  6. Tech&ME

    Tech&ME Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,438
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Please note what @techsammy has said:

    It seems to me that the Intel Active Monitor Software is reading the temperatures incorrectly.

    He has two choices to make either he can lower the input temperature (if this is supported by the software itself)

    OR

    He should uninstall the Intel Active Monitor Software completely. Intel Active Monitor Software does not fully support SP2 and its a known issue. New version is available at intel.com

    But its better not to have this software at all.
     
  7. ASH_DSG

    ASH_DSG Guest

    TRY TO OFF OR DISABLE THE HARDWARE TEMPERATURE OR HARDWARE MONITOR FROM BIOS IT WILL HELP OR RASE THE TEMP ALARM TO 80 C RHISHOULD WORK AND SEE IF UR PRO IS NOT OVERCLOCKED AND TRY TO LOAD FAIL SAFE OR COMPANY DEFAULT SETTING IN BIOS AND THEN RESTART.
    TRY ALL ABOVE ONE BY ONE AND SEE WHICH IS OK.
     
  8. Satissh S

    Satissh S New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai , India
    That can also be due to problems with your Switch mode power supply (SMPS). This is the sure symptom if your smps is faulty.. the computer will start and operate for a few minutes before it'll turn of.. automatically and the processor fan will stop running. Try changing your smps to a good one from antec or some other vendor. Insist with a wattage of minimum 400 watts. This problem has occured to me in the past. There are vendors in the market who sell you 400 watts smps which IMHO are not as efficient.

    As for as your heating query is concerned.. try applying thermal grease between cpu-fan and socket. Try keeping the cabinet door during summer season. Keep the wires tied to one corner of the chassis there by not obstructing the flow of air within.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page