intel 865 bord

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by mohitgiri, Dec 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mohitgiri

    mohitgiri New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    bhilwara
    hi friends i have a configuration

    pentium d processor 2.66 mhz(500 fsb)
    intel 865 orignal bord
    512+256 mb ram
    dvd writer
    15 '' LCD monitor
    160 gb hdd



    i want to know that was windows vista will run on y pc.
    (windows vista any version dosen't metter)
    which version is most sutaible for me.

    thanx in adv.
     
  2. moshel

    moshel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ahmedabad, Gujarat
    not sure of which vista u can run, but first u will have to decide which mobo ur taking.....cos there are 965 mobos with onboard gfx and without onboard graphics, so if u go for a mobo without gfx then u will ave to buy a gfx card with which u will surely be able to run all version of vista.
     
  3. ymhatre

    ymhatre New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai, Vile Parle - East
    Why not.....sure....all Vista will run....
    Minimum requirements for Vista is 1.6+ GHz Processor with 512mB Ram

    Since you are having 865 with onboard GPU ( i assume)
    So the performance of Vista wil be sluggish...no matter which one you select

    But you sure Opt for "Vista Ultimate"....Since you are having 160 GB so space is not a problem......And then run it in BASIC mode ...ie no Aero...

    But still recommended ram for Vista is 1GB..which you will sure face a problem....

    So better upgrade your Ram to 1GB
     
  4. OP
    OP
    mohitgiri

    mohitgiri New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    bhilwara
    thanx friend Ram is no metter for me. i will upgrade it. but tell me that windows vista will run without any grphic card actually intel 865 have on bord graphic card. vista basic can run but in the minimum sys requirement of vista ultimate vista premium are grapihc card (512 mb needed)..

    can my 865 will run vista ultiumate and vista premium?
    or

    can 865 bord will supports external graphic cards????


    please help
     
  5. ymhatre

    ymhatre New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai, Vile Parle - East
    well...not 512 mb GPU..
    But minimum of one having 128 mb, 3.0 Shader System will just do

    I my self run Vista Ultimate..though using an X1900GT 256mb....

    Intel 865 onboard card will sure support Vista ultimate..but no AERO...

    Can you please tell the exact model no. of your 865 mobo

    I had checked the site..
    expect for D865GVHZ
    All other 865 has AGP 3.0 slot

    Which means you can ADD an external AGP Graphics card
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2006
  6. shantanu

    shantanu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,784
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    38
  7. OP
    OP
    mohitgiri

    mohitgiri New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    bhilwara
    my bord is

    intel D865Gsa
    for p d and p 4, celron d

    now tell me will it support addtional graphic card.
    where it installed ion bord. and how?
    please describe in detail and step by step everything.



    and it have also AGP 8X graphic conector port. is it related to graphic card??

    and if it suport!! will this support 256 or 512 mb grphic card. which is best for it??? plz help
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2006
  8. assasin

    assasin Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,781
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Durgapur
    Just buy a cheap agp gfx card (a 6200 will do just fine).
     
  9. ymhatre

    ymhatre New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai, Vile Parle - East
    Go for 6600 / 7300 @ around 4.5K

    [​IMG]

    Your motherboard will support all AGP cards 64/128/256/512 ...

    Going for 7300 256 mb DDR3 would be wise though

    If you are limited to budget then stick to 6200 265mb
     
  10. OP
    OP
    mohitgiri

    mohitgiri New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    bhilwara
    thanx friend.
    and please tell me how much cost of 256 and how much 512.

    will these card is helpful for big and high graphic gaming.??
     
  11. ymhatre

    ymhatre New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai, Vile Parle - East
    These are AGP cards !!!

    XFX 6200 256 mb @ 2800 Rs
    XFX 6200 512 mb @ 4400 Rs
    XFX 7300 256 mb @ 3800 Rs
    XFX 7600 GS 256 mb @ 7500 Rs
    XFX 7600 GT 256 mb @ 11000 Rs


    Well just a hint, as you are always worried about memory of graphics card....

    256 / 512 doesnt matter that much...
    That depends on many factors like architecture, shadders in the graphic card etc ...
    so going just for 512 mb (as the no. appears big ) is useless untill your card has 256bit or 512bit architecture....

    So i would suggest stick to 7300 256mb ....its good enough to play 1024*768 low- medium setting games or 800*600 medium - high settings games ... Also good for Vista as..it may help featuring AERO
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page