Installing prob of MS SQL Server 2000 (dev edition)

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by ashu888ashu888, Jul 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ashu888ashu888

    ashu888ashu888 Core i7 (nehalem) Owner

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Hey guys,

    I am facing sum annoying problems while installation and running of MS SQL SERVER 2000 Developer Edition.

    I got the CD from my NIIT institute (so its not pirated) and now, i wanna install the s/ware so tat i can practice the SQL database functions including the programming part, i e: T (transact) SQL.

    I selected the Server & Client Tools from the options of: Client tools, Server & Client tools and Connectivity tools.

    But after the installation wen i clik on the Querry Analyzer, i get these errors (as shown below).

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Upload Pictures with PicTiger

    So please tell me wat wrong am i doin ???


    Cheers n e-peace....
     
  2. DukeNukem

    DukeNukem Come get Some

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Home Sweet Home
    (i cant open the picture link) but the icon pic shows you are not entering the username and password

    choose the server name or put "." without " there
    enter as sa and the password if you have choosed at the time of installation
     
  3. OP
    OP
    ashu888ashu888

    ashu888ashu888 Core i7 (nehalem) Owner

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    @ Duke

    But, during installation i did not specify any paswrd or username. And from the login screen, i guess the login name is just sa but wat to do ?? I cannot enter into it ?? Please suggest...


    Cheers n e-peace....

    Here are the screenies (acreenshots) that i get and the options tat i choosed during the installation of SQL SERVER 2000.

    Please advice me and tell me where im wrong.As even by selecting these options, i cannot run SQL and i get the errors. (as posted by the screenshots in the first post of this thread.)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2006
  4. OP
    OP
    ashu888ashu888

    ashu888ashu888 Core i7 (nehalem) Owner

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    And sum more...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Please guide me as i hv given all the details of my problem...

    Cheers n e-peace...
     
  5. royal

    royal New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    since you have used Windows Authentication during install , you have to select the SqlServer from the DropDown box and check "Start Sql Server if it is stopped"
     
  6. DukeNukem

    DukeNukem Come get Some

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Home Sweet Home
    in this case as suggested start the server from the taskbar (ofcourse)
    then fire query processor
    enter the user name and the password of your windows account
    if this wont help
    then reinstall the server and now this time choose the mixed mode login type
    hope fully( every thing crossed) that would help







    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    rest in pieces
     
  7. OP
    OP
    ashu888ashu888

    ashu888ashu888 Core i7 (nehalem) Owner

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    @ Duke, Royal

    Thanx for ur replies guys, Well wat u guys wrote didnt help me much but i (by mistake and in reluctance) checked the Windows Authenticaton in the "Connect Using" option and it worked, i was able to launch my SQL server. Thanx for ur replies too guys.. :)

    BTW, now i have sum dat files (contained in a script folder conatining sum DOS like screens and txt files) tat i had brought from my NIIT institute and i wanna upload this set database into the SQL so please tell me wat and how to go abt it..

    Awating replies...


    Cheers n e-peace....

    Come on help me out guys with installing my database.. : (

    Cheers n e-peace....
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2006
  8. OP
    OP
    ashu888ashu888

    ashu888ashu888 Core i7 (nehalem) Owner

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    ********Problem Solved *********

    I was able to install the databases into the SQL server by just opening the querries (from the SQL window) and executing them (by pressing F5)...

    Just a useful info for other ppl who might find it helpful... : )

    Cheers n e-peace....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page