Installed XP,grub gone

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by gary4gar, Sep 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    well i installed xp again as i need it for to connect my mobile to pc. linux does not support it. so now my GRUB is gone. can i use the ubuntu inbuilt boot looder to load windows??
    i dont want the two boot loaders.
    also i found out this http://www.geocities.com/lode_leroy/grubinstall/
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2006
  2. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Grub cannot boot windows. Windows needs ntldr. Grub can only act as chainloader for windows and hand over the booting process to ntldr then.
    Which mobile? Doesn't support, in which sense?
    This is anyways grub so it will act as a chainloader only.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    i have a mobile nokia 6020 which i want to connect through datacable. i have asked this question mailing lists also but did'nt get a single reply.
     
  4. Pathik

    Pathik Google Bot

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    9,747
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    u can repair ubuntu n install grub again...!!
     
  5. OP
    OP
    gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    ya will do that only
     
  6. Dhaval

    Dhaval New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nagpur
    If you want to dual boot with linux and windows, always install windows first and then linux. This causes no problem. I have done this many times.
     
  7. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Have you tried connecting the USB cable and seen the output of lsusb?
     
  8. chesss

    chesss mera kutch nahi ho sakta

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    Installing grub after windows overwrites it, is a very very common problem. I haven't tried it, but there are several solutions for this: from what a i remember you can simpppply use the live cd to install grub again.
    Search on ubuntu forums, you should get severrral matches
     
  9. OP
    OP
    gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    @chess
    i khow that, thanx for ur concern. i was just asking that instead of two bootloader can i use grub.

    @mehul
    well i tried it several times. my cell got detected as harp tecnologies.stuck at that point.
     
  10. cpyder

    cpyder CpyderGraphix

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sare marjon ki ek dawa... SGD or Super Grub Disk . Get ISO image from this link :

    http://adrian15.raulete.net/grub/tiki-download_file.php?fileId=95

    or Floppy from

    http://freshmeat.net/redir/supergrub/66544/url_bz2/tiki-list_file_gallery.php

    There is one for generic USB device too

    http://freshmeat.net/redir/supergrub/62945/url_tgz/tiki-download_file.php

    Fixing Grub blues doesnt get any simpler than this. F&#k your MBR, GRUB to your heart's content and then boot up with this CD/ Floppy. Dont have to bother about any CLI. Complete menu driven wizard like interface can automaticaly recover your GRUB, LILO and even Windows MBR. You can even load an installed OS directly without the rebooting. I have used it a number of times recently while experimenting with Xandros, FC5, Suse and Ubuntu.
    Have Fun.. :)
     
  11. shaunak

    shaunak Tux Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    @gary have you tried gnome phone manager?
     
  12. OP
    OP
    gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    well, why do u bump thread??
    i already brwosing net in airtel mobile office
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page