Install Fedora Core 5/Suse 10 without burning CDs

Discussion in 'Tutorials' started by blackpearl, Oct 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. blackpearl

    blackpearl The Devil

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    0x02AE88C6FF
    Burning 4-5 CDs to install any modern distro like Fedora Core 5 or Suse 10 is a big pain in the neck. This tutorial will teach you how to install FC5 or Suse or any other distro without burning a single CD!!! This method, however, will only work if you already have Windows installed on your system and want to dual boot with Linux.

    1. The first thing you will have to do is copy all the ISO files to your hard disk. Make sure that you copy all the files to the root of the partition and the partition must be formatted in FAT32. If you do not copy the ISO to the root of the partition (i.e. keep inside a folder) the setup will not able to detect the files.

    2. Now use winrar to open the first ISO file (disc1). Go inside the folder "isolinux" and copy the files initrd.img and vmlinuz to your c:\boot. You will need to enable viewing of hidden and system files in order to locate c:\boot.

    3. Now download the file called grub4dos from here. Extract the folder "boot" and the file "grldr" from the downloaded zip file. Inside the folder "boot" is another folder called "grub"; copy this folder to c:\boot. Copy the file "grldr" to c:\

    4. Then open c:\boot\grub\menu.lst and add these following lines.

    Code:
    title Fedora Core 5 Install
    kernel (hd0,0)/boot/vmlinuz
    initrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd.img
    5. Now you have to add grub to your c:\boot.ini file. Open boot.ini and add this line in the end:

    Code:
    C:\grldr=”Start GRUB”
    6. You are now ready to install FC5. Restart your PC and from the boot screen select "Start GRUB". This will load GRUB.

    7. From the grub screen select "Fedora Core 5 Install". The setup will now start and you can now select the hard drive partition where you copied the ISO files.

    Now sit back and let it install. No more burning and wasting discs and even no more changing CDs during install. After the installation is over you can delete the folder c:\boot\grub as well as c:\grldr and also the reference to this file from your boot.ini file, as these are no longer needed.

    I just installed FC5 by this method so I can guarantee you that it will work. Enjoy!!!

    UPDATE:

    For Suse its a bit different. Instead of initrd.img and vmlinuz, you have to copy initrd and linux. So the changes to c:\boot\grub\menu.lst will be this

    Code:
    title Suse Install
    kernel (hd0,0)/boot/linux
    initrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd
    Also you have to type the full name of the first ISO when it asks for the path. So write it down before you begin installation.
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2006
  2. mediator

    mediator New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In ur Evil Mind!
    Nice work blackpearl! But it wud have been better if u had structurised it in steps in a well defined manner!
     
  3. Pathik

    Pathik Google Bot

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    9,747
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    kool thx
     
  4. adit_sen

    adit_sen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, A*stralia
    thankx bro...this deserves to be a sticky. been wanting to do this for ages
     
  5. OP
    OP
    blackpearl

    blackpearl The Devil

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    0x02AE88C6FF
    Done.
     
  6. Ankur Gupta

    Ankur Gupta Wandering in time...

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,293
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    hey hw do i install FC5 if i have a iso dvd image of it?
     
  7. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    something similar to this http://fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=107298
    __________
    then u need to extract the whole image with winrar & keep the orinal image intact! and rest is the same.

    and if this fails u can convert dvd into cd's and install with this method
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2006
  8. DukeNukem

    DukeNukem Come get Some

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Home Sweet Home
    though its a nice tut.

    I cant install suse usin this method.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    blackpearl

    blackpearl The Devil

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    0x02AE88C6FF
    Read the 2nd part of the tutorial, the "update" part.
    If you are not able to install then tell me what problem you have faced.
     
  10. DukeNukem

    DukeNukem Come get Some

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Home Sweet Home

    thats what i did initially but failed to install SUSE

    cant move after choosing HDD as Installation MEDIUM with ISO NAME DEFINED
     
  11. OP
    OP
    blackpearl

    blackpearl The Devil

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    0x02AE88C6FF
    Maybe you chose the wrong partition or gave the wrong path. The partitions appear as sda1, sda2, etc. Do not rename the filenames of the ISO. If you have copied it inside a folder you should also specify the folder name like

    /folder/disc1.iso

    If you copied it to the root of the partition, then just type the file name. I m sure you have mixed up the partition or the filename. It should work.

    You might face another problem during the installation so might clear that as well. During installation go into manual partitioning mode. The setup will automatically assign various partitions so don't worry. Just highlight the partition where you have copied the iso files and click "Edit". Now click on the tab "fstab option" and check the box that read "do not mount at startup" or something similar. If you don't do that the installation might fail to proceed.
     
  12. DukeNukem

    DukeNukem Come get Some

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Home Sweet Home

    initially i've done same as directed by you but it hasnt helped
    then
    i extracted all the iso's in a folder and given its path as installation medium path BINGO installation is on its way.

    Thanks for prompt replies.
     
  13. Tech Geek

    Tech Geek Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cyber Hell
    A nice one
     
  14. ~Phenom~

    ~Phenom~ The No.1 Stupid

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CYBERYARD
    I have enabled all hidden/system files but there is no "boot" folder in my C:drive.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    blackpearl

    blackpearl The Devil

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    0x02AE88C6FF
    Uncheck "Hide protected system files (Recommended)"
     
  16. Nimtshey

    Nimtshey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chhukha,Bhutan
    I have FC5 in DVD, now i want to burn this DVD into CD as i don't have DVD ROM in my PC, i have CDRW with ahead nero, ur valuable suggestion and help is highly respected and valued.

    Thanks from BHUTAN
     
  17. hard_rock

    hard_rock Salieri Family

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Internet.......Have dynamic IP addres
    A nice alternative to start grub..
     
  18. raquez

    raquez New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Beleghata, Kolkata
    I cant view the folder c:\boot even after disabling "Hide protected system files (Recommended)"
    I am using WinXP SP2
     
  19. DukeNukem

    DukeNukem Come get Some

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Home Sweet Home
    Because there is no "Boot " (i cant find it too, don know where blackpearl :p had it) folder there. MAKE one yourself
     
  20. OP
    OP
    blackpearl

    blackpearl The Devil

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    0x02AE88C6FF
    OK. If you don't have the "boot" folder then you can create it. OR just copy the folder "grub" to c:\ and then add these following lines to c:\grub\menu.lst

    Code:
    title Fedora Core 5 Install
    kernel (hd0,0)/vmlinuz
    initrd (hd0,0)/initrd.img
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page