inspire 5500 and audigy 2

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by acp89, Sep 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acp89

    acp89 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    anybody know if the creative inspire 5500 are compatible with the creative sound blaster audigy 2?

    cnet says that they aren't, but they should be...

    TIA

    ajit
     
  2. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    there cant be compatibility issues between speakers and sound cards
    atleast i dun think so
    just that u'll be usin 5.1 speakers on a 6.1/7.1 card
    anyways this is suave_guy's department ....
    wait for him
     
  3. OP
    OP
    acp89

    acp89 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    "The product is not compatible with a Creative Audigy 2 sound card. The connection cable that is provided to link to the decoder connects 2 incompatible plugs. So when watching DVD or playing surround games you lose the sound in the rear boxes. I found a thread on the Creative forums where someone explains it is a design problem, the solution is to bypass the decoder and put the box plugs directly in the soundcard. (Though the system works correctly with a XBOX or DVD apparently.) I only recently bought a Creative Audigy 2, just to be able to enjoy the sound I was missing... now I must buy another speakerset! "

    from cnet
     
  4. Nemesis

    Nemesis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    get some other speakers if they aren't compatible...im sure there will b other speakers that r compatible...and as raven sez, it should not b an issue...
     
  5. krazydude

    krazydude New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Follow me and I shall set u free
    I think they are compatible, coz one of my cousins has the same config and it works for him. Check with a local hardware guy or the guy whose sellin u the card/speakers
     
  6. plasmafire

    plasmafire New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Moving out of mumbai soon!
    ok i have chkd them out and NOT compatible... It plays..but u lose 2 clannels.. the rear ones
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page