I have had it with Seagate...

Status
Not open for further replies.

sba

Journeyman
Hi guys,

Ok, so I have had it with Seagate. I have lost 3 drives to them...first a 40GB drive 8 months...the another one in 9 months and now a 200GB drive in 10 months of their purchase. They are improving for sure but this data loss is too much for me. On the other hand 2 Samsung drives that are notorious for their failure have never failed me but now I need you guys help.

I want to buy a 160GB HDD with 8MB buffer so that I can take backup of this 200GB drive, but sadly such combi is available only in SATA. I want to know which manufacturer to go for this time? Should I go for tried and tested Samsung or is Hitachi better (as a vendor told me)? How much time of warranty is there on Hitachi, WD and Maxtor? Which one should I go with guys...please help me...

sba

puja399

In the zone
I don't know what's failing you, I have been using Seagate HDD for last 7 years, 1.2gb, 2.1gb, 20gb, and now 80 gb, without any trouble of any kind. I usually run my computer overnight for 365 days a year, but none of my HDDs failed so far or given me any sort of trouble. Are you sure you don't have any overheating problem? Do you use HDD cooler or HDD fan? If not, please do, your problem might go away.

pimpom

Cyborg Agent
I've used literally hundreds of Seagate drives and none of them has failed. Only a couple have developed bad sectors over the years and these two were grossly misused. I did have three Seagate drives (on separate occasions) that were DOA (dead on arrival) and my supplier quickly sent me replacements.

Some time ago I heard that there were a lot of counterfeit Seagate HDDs circulating in the market. Perhaps you have been unlucky enough to buy some of those.

drvarunmehta

Wise Old Owl
I have used a Seagate HDD for 5 years and the PC has been on 99% of the time. The HDD hasn't developed a single bad sector as yet. You must be really unlucky.