1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

I got ADA3000DAA4BW is it not venice core ?

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by reddragon, Mar 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. reddragon

    reddragon New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Navi-Mumbai
    hey , yesterday I have purchased my PC for 2006-7 . I told to the dealer that "give me athelon 64 bit 3000+ venice core " .

    But now I see the processor number is ADA3000DAA4BW but somebody in this forum said BP means venice core ................

    so what is BW?

    :roll:
     
  2. mohit

    mohit The Hardware Labs

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raipur, India.
    ya BP means venice core ...BW is San Diego and is a rare one and a later one .. its even better than Venice though maybe not as good as Venice in overclocking.
     
  3. john_the_ultimate

    john_the_ultimate No pain....No gain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
  4. vijay_7287

    vijay_7287 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the only difference i find is tht , the stepping is e6 for BW and e3 for BP
     
  5. mohit

    mohit The Hardware Labs

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raipur, India.
  6. john_the_ultimate

    john_the_ultimate No pain....No gain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Well I have a BP and it has stepping E6.

    I think the VENICE cpu which are sold as (PIB) processor in box has the BP lable and cpu which are sold as TRAY (no HSF in package) are labled BW.

    @reddragon
    if ur cpu has 512KB L2 cache then its venice
    since SAN DIEGO has 1MB L2 cache.
     
  7. mohit

    mohit The Hardware Labs

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raipur, India.
    @john
    SAN DIEGO doesnt mean it has to have 1MB L2 Cache .. Even a 3200+ A64 San Diego has only 512KB L2.

    @red dragon
    your CPU is a SD .. download the latest version of CPU-Z and check.
     
  8. ashnik

    ashnik New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Thane
    so which one is better for non O/C people?
    San Diego on Venice..
     
  9. john_the_ultimate

    john_the_ultimate No pain....No gain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Not really, AMD64 3000+ VENICE does has stepping E6. checked with cpu-z.
    Difference between VENICE and SAN DIEGO is the amount of L2 cache memory and SAN DIEGO start at higher clock speed than VENICE.
     
  10. mohit

    mohit The Hardware Labs

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raipur, India.
    venice is better when it comes to overclocking afaik ..ask the others also.
     
  11. john_the_ultimate

    john_the_ultimate No pain....No gain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    As I have read on the net the VENICE with stepping E3 overclocks better than one with stepping E6. But with E6 u get the advantage of added instructions.
     
  12. mohit

    mohit The Hardware Labs

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raipur, India.
    @reddragon , john
    Okie guys I have confirmed with a senior overclocking guru and it is a VENICE. sorry for the wrong info.

    VENICE comes in 2 steppings E3 n E6 .. San Diego means 1MB L2 cache and starts only on higher models as john pinted out.

    E6 is better than E3 but when it comes to overclocking E3 is the leader.

    Credits to Darklord for the info.
     
  13. darklord

    darklord New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune,India
    dude !!! stop misleading people ... :shock: :shock:

    Ah its ok re..no big deal...no need to be so formal..lol
     
  14. OP
    OP
    reddragon

    reddragon New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Navi-Mumbai
    hey hey hey ............stop quarlling . :shock: :roll:

    yes it has 512kb l2 cashe but total 640kb cashe

    so it

    is

    a venice core OK ?
     
  15. mohit

    mohit The Hardware Labs

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raipur, India.
    come on darky .. i know u r just being humble. lol. well guys he really is one hell of a overclocker and we all know that.
     
  16. darklord

    darklord New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune,India
    Ok now stop that... :oops:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page