how to use Thunderbird/outlook

Status
Not open for further replies.

saROMan

QA Juggler
i want to know how to use thunderbird/outool to check my mails........
uptill now i used to do it at cafe` ..but now i hav connection at home so want to use these clients to check my mails......
i have installed thunderbird and tryed to config it but cant .......consider me as a complete newbe...can any one help me???

sailendra

Journeyman
Sure, I use Thunderbird. But to use an email client such as Thunderbird or outlook, you need to configure a few settings. Mainly the POP3 server and SMTP Server. The POP3 server is used to receive mail from your mail provider and SMTP server is used to send mail.
For e.g. I have an account with gawab.com - a free email provider. Their POP3 server address is pop.gawab.com and smtp server: smtp.gawab.com
Now start Thunderbird and goto Tools->Account Settings..
Click Add Account. A Wizard will popup. Since we want to setup an Email account. We select the first option and click Next.
You are asked to enter your name and email address; In my case it is Sailendra and sailendra@gawab.com
Next screen asks for the Incoming Mail server. enter the address: pop.gawab.com and click next. Next you type the username. This is usually the first part of your email address. For e.g in this case it is sailendra.
Click Next in the account name screen and Finish to save the account.
All you need to do to download mail now is to Click on Get Mail.
There are other settings in Thunderbird which u may wish to tweak to your convenience.
I make sure the "Leave messages on Server" option is ticked so that a copy of the mail I get in my inbox is retained on the server as a backup.
Most web based mail providers such as yahoo dont provide pop access for free. you can use the free Yahoo Pops program which will let you have POP access with Yahoo Mail. Similar ones exist for Hotmail.
Gawab however offers 1-2GB mail box with POP access for free

:)

ShekharPalash